NUTS !!… and Knitting

7 07 2010

For years I have dieted and nuts were a faux pas “Calorically DENSE, STAY AWAY !” Nuts have had a bad wrap (like butter.. but dont get me started). I have embraced nuts again in my diet.. sometimes i just need a little something, and it gives me the boost i need to march on through my day. While nuts can be calorically dense, they are also full of good oils and vitamins, as well as easy to transport.
You will always find a small snack sized ziploc in my purse with nuts in it… the dark side of nuts can be all the salt and sometimes sugar they use to coat.

I gave this receipt a trial run this weekend… the recipe is from BE website and she uses pecans. While I like pecans, they dont give me the same staying power (read protein) as almonds.

Spiced Roasted Almonds

2 tablespoon salted butter (marg makes this greasy, so avoid it)
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
½ teaspoon garlic powder
½ teaspoon Tabasco sauce
2 tablespoons Sugar Free Maple Syrup
2 cups almonds


Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F. Melt the butter in a small saucepan and stir in the Worcestershire, garlic powder, Tabasco, and syrup. Pour over the nuts in a medium bowl and toss to evenly coat. Spread the nuts in a single layer on a baking sheet, generously sprinkle with salt, and bake, stirring occasionally, until the nuts are crisp and toasted, 20 to 25 minutes. Cool the almonds on the baking sheet, breaking up any that stick together. Store in an airtight container.

Makes 2 cups

I used some marg, which i would advise against.. butter all the way, and i found i added some extra spicy after they cooled… as they werent spicy enough for me. Threw on some garlic powder, a sprinkle of tandoori spice, and some salt, tossed and put in a container. Ken loves them !!

On a knitting note.. i was asked my a colleague to make this from Dr. Who show ! I am not versed in the Dr. Who culture but this is a Dalek.. who says “exterminate” a lot ! This Dalek is pissing off Kelvin cat…

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 11 2010
Sugar Free Honey, how is this possible ? « Antics of a Museum Girl

[…] a good idea, but didnt incorporate the tried and true almond recipe I have used in the past. These almonds i have made on several occasions, are delicious and make the house smell fantastic when you are […]

20 04 2011
Snack Week: Are You Pro-Nut ? « Antics of a Museum Girl

[…] without too much added salt. I have posted before my recipe for pumpkin spiced almonds, and a savoury coated almond, both true winners. Today I wanted to share another nut recipe, cocoa covered pecans. While pecans […]

Leave a Reply

