Day 2…

10 08 2010

and I want this day to end. I feel okay today, kind of low energy and really looking forward to tomorrow.

I couldn’t do a protein shake for dinner last night, so I made Black Bean Soup up (from the BE website). Delicious and spicy ! I need to cook when I get home from work. It just doesn’t feel like dinner unless I am making something, especially something hot.

I have planned chicken feta salad, and a spinach souffle tomorrow as you are allowed mushy foods. This pouch test is slightly harder than it was the last time, and last night all I wanted was sugar free fudge. What I ended up having for snack was a protein hot chocolate and I was done for the night.

OH.. i had a question from Jude about the whipped peanut butter (see the post named I am Back, and scroll to the end to see the magical PB) We saw it in Nova Scotia at a Sobey’s and bought a jar. My sister, who lives in KW, has spotted it as well. If any reader has seen it, please post the details in the comments, so we can source the miracle of whipped peanut butter in the Big Smoke.


Thick Black Bean Soup
courtesy of Bariatric Eating w/ a tweek by MOI

1 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 medium onion, diced
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon Splenda
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon chipolte powder
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
2 15-ounce cans black beans (drain one, use one w/liquid)
2/3 cup chicken broth
1/4 cup milk
juice of half a lime
Sour cream to serve

In a large saucepan heat olive oil over medium heat. Add onions, garlic, and Splenda and slowly cook until onions are tender, about 10 minutes. Stir in cumin, chipolte, and black pepper. Allow to cook for 2 minutes. Add one can of the beans, undrained to the onion mixture. Drain one can of the black beans and add. Puree the remaining can of undrained beans, and add along with the chicken broth and milk. Reduce heat to low and simmer for 15 minutes. If mixture seems too thick add more chicken broth.

Serve with sour cream and fresh salsa, if desired. Makes eight 1-cup servings.

Per Serving: Calories 195; Protein 10 g; Fat 5 g; Carbs 18 g; Sugar 1 g; Sodium 305 mg

Actions

Information

3 responses

13 08 2010
Lindsay

I saw it at No Frills (midland and kingston) this past week. 🙂

16 08 2010
jude!

thanks, lindsay! i will check out the no frills near me 😀

18 08 2010
Jewlz

I found it at food basics at Dixie and Rathburn… Didn’t buy any yet though because we are overflowing with peanut butter from the last sale..

Leave a Reply

