Take that Tony Robbins !

23 08 2010

The key to success is….. snacks, and loads of good ones on hand so you make better choices. Ken and I knew early on that an occasional trip to the Low Carb Grocery store to buy snacks was imperative to keeping us “on track” and ensured we weren’t eating snacks that tasted like hay.

This weekend I managed to get to the low carb grocery, thank you Bernie, to tackle the last frontier of cooking low carb….. BAKING. I needed the necessary basics to enable me to make biscotti or brownies that didnt have a horrible Splenda aftertaste OR look horrible because the chemistry was off. Malitol is your friend.. and i really really want to make caramels… In my head, I think i can be “normal” if I can figure this out.

I love the challenge ! My good friend Jude gave me “Snaps” cereal that she tried and said it was horrible. I used a handful in my peach crisp last week and had a brainstorm when i was in the Low Carb Grocer staring at sugar free marshmallows….PEANUT BUTTER RICE KRISPIE SQUARES !
I made this recipe and waited to plug in the nutritional numbers thinking in my head, “if the stats arent great, i will have an occasional one as a treat”… i think y’all will be pleasantly surprised by the dets on these snacks.

Peanut Butter Rice Krispie Treats – Low Carb Styles

2 pkgs of La Nouba sugar free marshmallows (about 5.5 ounces of marshamallow goodness)

1 1/2 tbsp Becel
1/4 cup Simply JIF Peanut Butter
3 cups SNAPS by Dixie Carb Counters Cereal

Melt butter-margarine in pot, add marshmallows and stir constantly over medium heat until melted. Add PB and stir until melted. Add cereal and mix until well coated and gooey. Press into a pre-PAMmed 9 x 9 pan and cool. I threw the goo in the pan, topped it with wax paper, and pressed the goo into place using said wax paper.
chill
Cut into 12 squares.
tada !

NOW for the best part !
Nutritional info:
90 Calories, 5g fat, 5.5g carbs, 9 grams of protein
42% of this is protein based !

Comments from my taste tester aka Ken is that they should taste more peanut buttery, and they are a lot chewier than normal ones

Actions

Information

7 responses

24 08 2010
Bernie

I have to find out where Jude found that cereal and make these!! Looks really good Katherine.

25 08 2010
jude!

you are a friggin’ magician!! i am in awe of your awesomeness!

25 08 2010
kat

Thanks Jude ! I love to hate that SNAPS cereal…
I feel this was MENSA moment and I have to say they are pretty good. I’ll save you one to try !

3 09 2010
Cat

OKay this is another one I need to try. Damn you Kat! 🙂

3 09 2010
kat

These are such a good snack ! I cut up the whole pan and wrapped them individually in plastic wrap to pop into lunches. You gotta try them !

28 10 2010
Cat

OK I bought the snaps today – making them tonight BUT I’m using Whipped PB or the Organic PB. Hmmm.

28 10 2010
geokatgirl

use the organic.. the whipped is light and fluffy but wont pack the flavour punch the raw-organic stuff has.. you want to be able to taste the PB in these, and with the maple flavour etc, you need the unprocessed stuff.

good luck

Leave a Reply

