Buffalo Chicken Wings ver. 2.0

16 09 2010

This is a morph of this recipe and soup. I was telling my friend Andrea that fall has hit, and I am instantly craving soups and stews. Someone mentioned Buffalo chicken wing soup and I was all over it ! I took 4 Buffalo Chicken soup recipes, and the Buffalo Chicken wing recipe on this blog and morphed it to the recipe below. A lot of the soup recipes used Velveeta cheese… LOL, processed fat, no thanks and macaroni noodles ?
I feel a true ode to Buffalo Wings in soup form must have carrots and celery, blue cheese, and Franks’ Hot Wing sauce.

In my new Le Creuset pot.. what a find for $10 !


Buffalo Chicken Wings Soup

1 lb of chicken thighs (about 4 cups of chopped chicken)
2 tbsp of flour (i used coconut flour)
1 tbsp butter
1 onion chopped
2 carrots, chopped
2 celery stalks, chopped
3 cups of chicken stock
1 cup of Frank’s Buffalo wing sauce
crumbled blue cheese for topping – 1/2 ounce each

Brown chicken thighs in pot, pulled out chicken when finished and reserving any liquid coming from the boneless skinless thighs to use with the chicken stock portion of this recipe. Saute onions, celery and carrots in butter until soft, add chopped chicken and coat the entire thing with the flour, essentially making a roux that will thicken up the soup. Add chicken stock and Franks wing sauce and let simmer. As you bowl it out add some sprinkled blue cheese.
This is not an everyday meal, as the sodium is sort of high, given the wing sauce, but it is so good and it tastes very much like deep fried chicken wings.

Nutritional on this is :
233 calories, 11 g fat, 4g carbs, 26 grams of protein PER CUP !

This is some good loving and you get a fair sized bowl and protein for a soup. Ken likes it as it is a vehicle for blue cheese… whilst eating it last night he even exclaimed “oh look there are carrots in here, hurray”.. he is so weird

Actions

Information

11 responses

19 09 2010
jude!

i made this tonight and it is SO DELICIOUS!

22 09 2010
Cat

Sooooooooooooo DELICIOUS!!

22 09 2010
geokatgirl

you’re so funny…. I like anything that tastes like junk food but isnt !! On some level it just seems wrong that we are eating Buffalo wings, pizza soup, mini donuts and fudge… it is like we found the loophole ! sweet sweet loophole

26 09 2010
Nikki

I am going to make this soup for Rick’s flag football party!

3 10 2010
Cat

Making it again! Such a great tasting soup. 🙂

4 10 2010
geokatgirl

it’s addictive.. we had some from the freezer for lunch on Saturday… Ken said “that is some GOOD soup”, words I have never heard him utter in reference to soup !

15 10 2010
Lindsay

Ok so I’m late on this train, BUT HOLY COW this is great!

15 10 2010
kat

Good huh ?? Yeah soup

19 01 2012
dionne

Hi hi! I’m friends with Judyth G. and she pointed me in this soup’s direction. Holy Jeebus it is so good! I loved every bite I just had, and finally there’s a way for me to get my hot wing fix without the deep fryer! Yay! Also, I’m super excited to share your website with a sweet friend who is gearing up for her own WLS and is a little daunted by all the protein requirements.

Thanks so much! I can’t wait to try more recipes!

19 01 2012
geokatgirl

It’s really good, isn’t it?? There is a buffalo wing shrimp on here as well.. Equally yummy and low cal but feels bad for you

19 01 2012
dionne

Oooh I can’t wait to try it!!

Leave a Reply

