My Just Desserts

21 09 2010

I am feeling good these days.. Handling stress better than I ever did, getting out to run a couple of times a week and generally feeling I have my crap together.

This was crystal clear this weekend when we attended our friend’s wedding, Mark and Melanie. They rented a Victorian (haunted) Inn in the Kawarthas and had a weekend event there. We rented a cottage 7 minutes away from the Inn, as their families had all the rooms occupied. It was an incredible event.. More pictures of that at the end of this post.
What was really outstanding was the eating and socializing. Wedding was outside, pics outside after whilst guest roamed the lawns sipping cocktails and eating apps. I had apps!! 2 of them, a glass of wine, and dinner. Dinner was 3 courses… A lovely fresh tomato basil soup ( 4 spoonfuls), Boston lettuce salad with poppy seed dressing (2 smallest leaved), and chicken with broccoli and mash (a bit of each).

I sorta fizzled out around 11pm, as the others started to ramp into many beers… So my stamina isn’t 100 percent, but I could eat everything and felt “normal”.
The reason for my low energy wasn’t apparent until I got home on Sunday and wanted chocolate … and Peanut Butter… TOGETHER FOREVER. Serious cravings…. so i made these two desserts, and had one of each. The rewards of maintenance…. 2 desserts and each of them a-okay for me to eat.

Jude’s Mini Cheesecakes
Bottom
1 cup almond meal (you can get this at grocery store)
2 tbsp hersey’s SF chocolate syrup
2 pkg of splenda (i used some malitol instead)

combine until a sandy consistency and press into mini cupcake holders. Use a 1 tsp per cup to yield 20 cups. I think i was a bit generous and ended up with 18 mini cups at the end of it.

Filling

1 pkg of cream cheese, room temp
1 heaping tbsp of whipped peanut butter
2 shots of SF peanut butter syrup
1 egg
1 tbsp of cocoa

whip it up ! it will be silky and yummy and scoop into mini cups, so each one is 3/4 full.
Bake in a preheat oven for 15 to 17 minutes.
Nutrition on these varies depending on your yield but range in the 55 to 75 calories range with 1 to 2 grams of protein.

Ken licking the peanut-y chocolate spoon

FUDGE version 2.0
The other Chocolate Bliss was this fudge recipe. I did notice that I managed a typo in the recipe, and also realized that is why the last batch tasted a bit buttery. The recipe should be for 1 stick of butter = 1/4 cup not a 1/2 cup. So the nutrition on these babies just got better 82 calories 4 grams of protein, and 6 grams of fat.

I dont know if this was the PMS talking, but these were HEAVEN. I also think that malitol is WAY better than Splenda and I used organic chunky PB, which seems to give it more of a PB flavour hit.

Ken and I at the wedding

Actions

Information

One response

24 09 2010
Cat

HEAVEN! Fudge 2.0 rocked my world!

Leave a Reply

