The Bad, The Mediocre & The Wonderful

3 10 2010

I don’t really post every new recipe I try because as with everything in life, especially in places like Plenty of Fish, for every great 1, there are 10 duds. I had a weekend of less than noteworthy recipes. I made a cowboy beef stew in the crock pot, and while it is a Weight Watchers friendly stew, it is unkind to us carb watchers….I made the recipe and sat down to plug in the numbers and was not happy.. not a do-over !
SO I am not even going to post the recipe
but here is a picture .. just so you know I am not lying.

As well, I made some seafood stuffed mushroom caps… again, a less than stellar recipe..and not a do-over. I had them for lunch today with a tomato and some oil and vinegar dressing

WHAT WAS noteworthy about my weekend food-wise were two things:
1) I made what is essentially my Post G20 chicken with black beans in the crock pot this week, and had a MENSA moment and made cornmeal dumplings on the top of it .. OMG wonderful

Cornmeal Dumplings

1/4 cup of yellow cornmeal
1/3 cup of flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 beaten egg white
2 tbsp milk
1 tbsp cooking oil

Stir together flour, cornmeal, and baking powder. In another mixing bowl, combine the egg white, milk, and cooking oil. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and stir only until combined.. drop dumplings mixture in 8 rounded spoons atop the stew, crank the crock pot up to high, and then cover for 30 minutes (do not lift lid)
squishy goodness just dropped into the pot

DONE, and time for DINNER

Nutrition:
56 Calories, 1.81 g fat, 8 g carbs, 1.56 g protein

2) FIND OF THE CENTURY- Dulce de Leche (sugar free)!!
it is so good…

and the back nutrition doesn’t disappoint either !

I was JUST talking about how this stuff was something I use to dip fruit in, back in the sugar eating days. In the coming days I am going to make a morphed eggface 5 minute microwave cake and incorporate some of this sauce from Heaven. I also want to get my hands on some pumpkin puree.. i have a mighty pumpkin itch that needs to be scratched !

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

