Pumpkin Obsessed

25 10 2010

I am not sure why I am so fixated on this seasonal squash.. is it because i hate pumpkin pie ? That I am not eating enough veg and so i am having weird veggie cravings? I have made 2 batches of my pumpkin biscotti thus far and Ken gives them a two thumbs up. I guess those pumpkin tins are so big I am always left with with extra pumpkin. I have been sitting on this recipe for weeks now, trying to get my head wrapped around how I was going to make this and have it be more redeeming within my diet. I think I have done well for a first try. I would definitely up the cinnamon next time, and use a flavoured syrup in lieu of some of the milk (s.f. pumpkin spiced syrup..heh).
I absolutely loved this, the texture is like a really thick custard, but it cuts like a square. Ken had his cold, mine was still warm and i served them with a tablespoon of sf maple syrup and a dab of whipped cream. This would be a great brunch item which people would not know it was good for them, or diety in any way.
Pumpkin adverse people beware !!

Spiced Pumpkin Oatmeal Bake

from JUDE Food
2 cups Old-fashioned Oatmeal
1 cup Pumpkin Pure
2 egg
1 cup 2% Milk ** next time i would add 1/4 cup of sf pumpkin pie syrup and 3/4 cup of milk
1 tsp Pumpkin Pie Spice
1 tsp Pure Vanilla Extract
2 scoop vanilla whey protein
1 cup 2% Cottage Cheese
1 tsp Flax Meal
1/4 cup Splenda

precook oatmeal and let cool. Can I just tell you how exciting it was to smell cooked oatmeal. It was !! Use the old fashion slow cook oatmeal and do yourself a favour and get the multigrained one.. your bowels will thank you.


throw all the ingredients in a bowl, and use a hand mixer to blend until smooth and you see no cottage cheese chunks. Note that I did not blend well enough and you can see the cottage cheese chunks….shame spiral.
Pour into a pre-PAMmed 9 x 9 pan and put it into a 325 oven for 45 minutes to an hour. You want the edges and top crispy, and the middle set (no jiggling)

Serve warm or cold, with a splash of maple syrup, whipped cream or any sort of sauce. So yummy!

Nuts on this are as follows:
1 square (1/9th of pan)
Calories 157, fat 3.5g, carb 17g, fibre 3g, protein 11.6 g

Is it a breakfast or a dessert ? who cares, i love it !

Actions

Information

One response

30 12 2010
Coconut Custard a.k.a deliciousness « Antics of a Museum Girl

[…] watch our net carb intake. This feels like dessert to us, and along with the espresso custard and pumpkin bake, these are complete comfort foods without any eaters regret. God knows at this time of year there […]

Leave a Reply

