Halloween & Pizza Bake

1 11 2010

Happy Halloween everyone. I have been amiss not blogging sooner but my house has turned into a Nike sweatshop. My hands would ache when I got up every morning fashioning our costumes for the big parties on Saturday. Essentially Ken and I have been living on freezer casseroles so I could start sewing as soon as I got home from work.

Party #2, by this point my makeup was sort of itchy..

So Sunday morning came WAY too fast and I hopped on the scale to see either I am carrying a bit of water weight.. or just weight. I was up 2 lbs, and I junked out the last week, so I decided to schedule a pouch test for this week (a cross between a cleanse and a get off the junk food sort of thing). I had a tonne of bits of things in the fridge that was making me mental, so i used them all Sunday morning to make a couple of things…mushrooms, zuchini, and onions with pizza sauce serves double duty for a pizza (for lunch) and some Pizza Bake Casseroles for dinner.
I can’t believe I havent posted this recipe yet… it was the GO TO recipe when i was fresh out of surgery, it tastes great, and it can be made ahead and popped into the oven when you get home from work.
This is a recipe from Susan Maria Leech.

Pizza Bake

2 cups of marinara sauce
8 ounces of italian sausage
1/2 cup of diced pepperoni
15 ounces of ricotta
1 large egg
1/4 cup of grated parm
1/2 cup of roasted peppers (i sub in whatever veg i want here)
1/2 onion, chopped
2 cups of shredded cheese
1/4 teaspoon of red chili flakes
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Saute onion and veggie until softened, add the innards to the sausage and saute until it is completely cooked. Drain any fat from this.

In another dish, mix together egg, ricotta, parm and spice. This will act as the cheese layer in this dish. I threw in some fresh parsley, because that is how i roll.

This makes 8 servings, so I divide it up into separate containers as we will get sick of eating this for a week. I have layered in sauce on the bottom, the meat-veg layer, and then the layer of ricotta cheese and egg.

Add a final layer of sauce, and add cheese to the top. We are cheese addicts so here I have a hard italian cheese with chunks of truffle paste in it…heh.

and it is ready to bake, or can be stored in the fridge until you bake it or frozen and popped into the oven. Bake to heat, which is approximately 30 minutes.

Nuts on this are as follows:
WLS serving (1/2 cup) is 169 calories, 9 g fat, 4 carbs, 17 g protein

Actions

Information

One response

1 11 2010
jude!

i think i’ve had that cheese, and it’s one of my faves. loves it!

you and ken looked super awesome. you two are so creative!

Leave a Reply

