It is EASY to be Verde !

6 11 2010

Green, Green Green !

I wish my blog had a smell-o-blog function because our loft smells fantastic and i am actually giddy. I hardly get SUPER giddy about cooking because while I love to cook and create, the food doesn’t fill the same emotional niche as it once did. I am GIDDY about green right now.

Winter has rolled into Ontario and we are looking at a long road of blah tasting tomatoes and starchy produce, so when I came across a recipe for Chicken Pozole Verde with so many fresh ingredients that don’t taste awful right now, I was excited.

I was up early and off to St Lawrence market to get 4 ingredients for this stew. I found everything fresh as well as seeing poblanos, and tomatillos in cans as well (tip for those who are thinking “i dont have time to hunt down exotic produce!”)

Hominy is the 3rd ingredient I went for and you can find this in any Hispanic section in your grocery store. The 4th ingredient is fresh oregano, and the bunch I bought was pre-packaged in the fresh herb section of the market. I am drying the rest of the bunch and mixing it with my other oregano spice.

Can I mention again how amazing our house smells… Ken yelled from the office “what are you cooking out there, because it smells pretty good”. Amen Ken !

One note before we dive into the recipe, this makes ALOT, 18 cups (4.5 quarts) so make it and split it with a friend, or half it, and freeze it for a rainy day. Because of the nature of this sort of dish, the flavours deepen over time-reheating, so enjoy it for a couple of days.

Chicken Pozole Verde

7 cups chicken stock
1 cup water
6 chicken breast halves, bone in and skin on = 5 cups of meat (read on !)
1 lb tomatillos (green tomato like veg that has a thin husky skin which needs to be removed)
1 small onion
2 poblano chiles – cored and de-seeded
2 jalapenos – fresh or canned
4 large garlic cloves – smashed
1/2 cup of chopped cilantro (*cilantro haters, you cant taste cilantro in this dish)
1 tbsp fresh oregano leaves
s & p to taste
1 tbsp canola or any veg oil
29 oz of hominy (or two 15 oz ones)(omit of you are primal-paleo)

Note I was worried that this wasn’t going to be thick enough SO I had a can of black beans in a holding pattern JUST IN CASE. I didn’t need them.

In a large stock pot, add chicken stock and water and bring it up to a boil. Slip in the 6 chicken breasts, bones, skin and all, and simmer 25 – 30 minutes until the chicken is cooked. Take out the chicken and set aside to cool, and skim the top of the stock for fat.

Happily bubbling away in stock

Giddy factor number two is that I got to use my blender for something other than a protein shake and giddy factor number three is that i didn’t have to chop anything !
Add tomatillos, de-seeded poblanos, onion, garlic, oregano, cilantro ( i keep a ziploc of frozen chopped in the freezer b/c the fresh stuff lasts like 2 minutes before it wilts), jalapeno (i used the canned ones as I dread getting the seeds out of them) and 1 cup of stock from your stock pot. Blend being careful that hot liquids like to pop the top of the blender.

In a deep saute pan, heat the veg-canola oil. Add verde mixture into hot oil and stir occasionally for 20 minutes. You will see the colour of your verde change from a bright green to an olive green and this is what makes the house smell delicious…all those raw components are cooking and reducing.

Once the verde is an army green add it to your gently simmering chicken stock. Drain hominy and add to pot as well as your chicken (which you have picked at to de-boned, de-skinned, and shredded).

Hominy it looks like zaftig corn

Let everything simmer away for as long as you like and like I said previously, this gets better on the reheat.

Serve this in a deep bowl, with add ons like chopped lettuce, radishes, avocado, sour cream, lime wedges or even cheese. It tastes fresh, hearty and spicy all at the same time.

Giddy Factor Number Four.. NUTS :
The nutrition on this is fabulous, and I found it really hearty and filling.
WLS serving is 1 cup. NUTS do not include any add ons like avocado, sour cream etc.
Calories 81, fat 1.3g, carb 3.25g, protein 13 g (yeah, shockingly good)

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 11 2010
Jude

Such marvy winter food! I have a pork shoulder in my freezer that I’ve been wondering what to do with.. Gonna try this recipe!

7 11 2010
geokatgirl

DO IT! It just tastes SO fresh but substantial and the nutritiom on this soup is SO fabulous !! I sliced a quarter of an avocado in the bottom of our bowls and ladeled the stew over it.. So good ! I reheated today and it is thicker, no doubt the hominy is acting like a thickener.
Enjoy !

Leave a Reply

