Pumpkin Obsessed version 2.1

4 12 2010

So, as you know this fall I have been pumpkin obsessed. I don’t know why as I never really liked pumpkin before my surgery, I actually thought it was vile. Just goes to show you how much your taste buds change after surgery. ‘Tis the season to be baking, and I am trying to move past the feeling that I ‘need’ to bake and use pumpkin more creatively. I was excited to find this recipe for pumpkin chili. It sounds weird, but it’s origins are firmly rooted in the Southwest. Take that Bobby Flay !
I have been trying to cut back the fat, so in lieu of using ground beef, I used two pounds of ground bison, meaty but virtually no fat. I figured combined with the pumpkin and spices, this would be saucy, low in fat, high in protein and utterly delicious.
Game meats like bison, ostrich and elk are FABULOUS.. and can be found at locale markets. Cost-wise, they tend to run about $6 a pound, which isn’t too bad !

Pumpkin Chili Recipe

2 pounds ground MEAT
1 large onion, diced
1 green bell pepper, diced
1 (15 ounce) cans kidney beans, drained
1 (28 ounce) can peeled and diced tomatoes with juice
1 cup canned pumpkin puree
1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice (mixture of cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, all spice, and cloves)
1 tablespoon chili powder
1/4 cup splenda
1 chipolte OXO cube
splash of garlic powder to taste

Saute onions, and green pepper in the oil until tender. Add bison and saute until cooked thoroughly. Add spices and let them warm for two minutes before you add the pumpkin, and other liquids. Add sweetener and let SIMMER for an hour and then taste.

Add more heat or spice at this time. This is when I threw in the chipolte OXO cube as it needed something. The pumpkin in this is delicious and ups the fibre. All in all Ken says this is a 4 out of 5 “Kennys” and it would be a 5 out of 5 if it had more heat.

The original recipe was a typical Americanized recipe with little spice, and double sugar. The results of my sauce with my tweaks made this chili taste like a mole… delicious, rich, and so complex.
SO if you decide to make some chili and want to TWIST it just a bit, add some pumpkin.
Nutrition on this recipe was for a cup ! I had a difficult time getting a whole cup in !
Calories: 250, fat 11g, carbs 11g, and protein is 25 grams

Next time I make this I will use on 1.5 lbs of meat, bringing the calories down to 200, and protein to 20 grams

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

