Spiced Almonds

17 12 2010

So last night we had our Mr Greek WLS holiday meet and eat and I made a batch of Spiced Almonds to give to everyone. I lovingly measured out 1/4 cup bags to hand out.

What I didn’t realize is that the recipe ISN’T on my blog.. Until now. Here you go Jan !

As I am making dinner I am typing this…

Spiced Almonds (adapted from the Almond Board of California)

1 egg white
1 tbsp water
2 cups of raw almonds
1 tbsp pumpkin pie spice
OR 1 tsp of ginger, and cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of cloves and all spice
OR any sort of spice combo you like.. I have made cocoa-cinnamon-chipolte which is also delicious !
2 tbsp of coconut sap (or any sweetner)

Preheat oven to 275 F and line a baking sheet with parchment.
In a large bowl beat egg white and water until fluffy. Add almonds, toss to coat. Throw in spice mixture and sugar and toss to coat.
Dump the whole lot on baking sheet and spread out to an even one almond layer.
Into the oven for 45 to 60 minutes, taking out the almonds every 15 minutes to flip around and sprinkle with salt.

I usually just bake for 45 minutes as I don’t want to sweetener to burn. Let cool because the almonds are nuclear when they come out !

Nuts on these are ridiculous, so I just count them as almonds.. Spices are next to nothing, the egg white is basically protein glue and the only calories you are adding is the sweetener.

Enjoy !

Actions

Information

13 responses

18 12 2010
Babygirl

Very nice recipe

18 12 2010
kat

Thanks babygirl ! You can go sweet or savoury with this.. It is up to you.
I will post some images when I log in later today… This was a quick post from my smartphone ! Enjoy !

18 12 2010
jude!

i meant to go to bulk barn today to buy almonds. i walked past and it was a total gongshow in there, so i didn’t even go in. i’ll hit it again tmw am at opening. i want to make maple chipotle almonds with the sf syrup. will keep you posted.

18 12 2010
kat

Sounds delicious.. Let me know how it goes !

19 12 2010
Jan

We loved them. Lindsay loves Pumpkin, I’m making a batch to send to her!

19 12 2010
geokatgirl

thanks Jan.. let me know how it goes… i really like them and it is good to know that those who still can eat sugar think they taste okay as well !

20 12 2010
lynn

I have 4kg of almonds ready and waiting – thanks for the inspiration! These will be great for little Xmas gifts without threating peoples pant size.

21 12 2010
Lindsay

So these were amazing!!!!

21 12 2010
geokatgirl

thanks Lynn and Lindsay.. so easy as well ! you can do curry, or jerk, but i have a thing for cinnamon.

and because you use an egg white, they aren’t “candied” in a traditional way but turn out just as good..

24 12 2010
Jan

I’m making another batch of almonds! My mom had me write out the jello recipe, she loved it last night.

24 12 2010
kat

Your mother was funny last night… Giving you the ‘tsk tsk’ for having some goodies whilst she was taking part as well ! Glad you like the almonds…incredibly easy and adaptable to other spices. A bbq rub would be good on them. Happy holidays !

20 04 2011
Snack Week: Are You Pro-Nut ? « Antics of a Museum Girl

[…] nuts can be coated and enjoyed without too much added salt. I have posted before my recipe for pumpkin spiced almonds, and a savoury coated almond, both true winners. Today I wanted to share another nut recipe, cocoa […]

20 12 2011
geokatgirl

For a CHAI twist, make up this recipe and sub in 1 tbsp for the spice above:

2 tsp ground cinnamon
2 tsp ground cloves
2 tsp ground cardamom
1 tsp ground coriander
1 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp ground white pepper

Leave a Reply

