Protein Truffles a.k.a. delicious

18 12 2010

I seem to be going through a ball phase again… I think making these rumballs has me wanting all treats to be in a round form… from the oatmeal chocolate balls here to there protein “truffles”. I think these are more like rum balls, and to me the original recipe from Eggface was a bit gooey, so I tweaked it. I am not sure if it was because I didn’t use the Click protein espresso powder, and subbed in other protein, better cocoa, and instant espresso. I can’t use Click product.. every time I make something with Click (mostly shakes) I feel awful after, almost like I ate too much sugar. Regardless of protein, these things rock LARGE, feel like treats, have almost 10 grams of protein in them and 2 are 101 calories. BIG WIN all around.

What I am bummed about is I finished the rest of my crushed sugar free candy canes !! I bought them last year at Walmart and have been rationing them out. If anyone finds them in the stores, could you post the location for me in the comments ? thanks !
A big shout out to Shelly aka Eggface for this recipe and for her general creativity and inspiration in the kitchen !

Protein Truffles
adapted from Shelly’s Peppermint Espresso Protein Truffles

4 Scoops Chocolate Protein Powder
3 tbsp of cocoa ( i use Valrhona)
3 tsp instant espresso (Nescafe as a decent one.. or just double up regular instant coffee)
1/2 cup Ricotta Cheese
1/2 cup Almond Butter
1 Tablespoon vanilla syrup
1 tea of vanilla extract
1/4 cup Chopped Nuts (Pecans, Walnuts, Pistachios or a combo)
1 crushed sugar free candy cane

I started to mix all the ingredients together but the mixture was TOO wet..you can see from the picture that it is sticking to the sides of the glass bowl.

To dry the mixture up, i grabbed some almond meal/flour from the fridge and added 1/2 cup and the mixture dried up enough to be able to scoop and roll. I love my cookie scoop…a blast from the past when I was a baker. It is nice to have all your cookies-balls all the same size.

You can roll these in crushed nuts etc. but i just threw the candy canes right into the mixture. I figured I needed to make the dough more dense. Place in fridge to firm before serving. Keep leftovers refrigerated.
Note the lovely nugget of candy cane in this one !!

Ken’s comments on these were “is there mint in this ? You know I don’t like mint”. Heh, more for me ! This recipe is completely adaptable to other flavours, like maybe a german chocolate one with coconut and coconut extract OR something cool like maybe a vanilla lavender one and you could punch up the vanilla with some of those international coffee things or sf white hot chocolate ?? hmmm possibilities !
Nuts on these are for 2 per serving:
101 calories, 6g fat, 4g carbs, 9 g protein

Actions

Information

3 responses

19 12 2010
Sonya

I think these look delicious ! I love it. 🙂

20 12 2010
kat

I was going to make a batch for NYE…so we can eat ‘healthy’ and there is no artifical sweetener in this !!

22 12 2010
Sonya

Thanks for including one in my box ! It was pretty good .. not as sweet as I thought, and a LOT more nutty than I was expecting !

Leave a Reply

