Greek Shrimp with Feta & Wicked Dessert

3 01 2011

I have had a hankering for shrimp. I bought some precooked, deveined, ready to eat frozen shrimp thinking if I felt snacky on NYE, I would bring them to the party and munch on them all night. It is VERY hard to do any serious damage with shrimp, unless you start dipping them in sauces.
I pulled shrimp out today because Erica and the rest of the Cambridge crew are low carbing-no junk for the next five days, and I joined in. This is a great recipe that I have made before, early out, as it was hardy and used pantry items for the most part. I was SUPER excited to make it tonight as I got to use my brand new Le Creuset 8 oz ramekins for this dinner.
This recipe is adapted from Susan Maria Leach’s book, Before and After.

Greek Shrimp with Feta

1 onion, chopped
1 tbsp oil
2 garlic cloves, chopped
handful of greek olives, chopped (like maybe 12)
1 15oz can of tinned tomatoes
1/2 cup white wine OR 2 tea white wine vinegar & chicken broth brought up to 1/2 cup
1 tsp dried basil
1/4 tea cinnamon
1/4 cup of fresh parsley

1 pkg of 31-40 count shrimp ~ 650 g, de-thawed, deveined
3 large tomatoes, sliced uber thin

preheat oven to 400 degrees
heat oil in pan and saute onions and garlic, throw in everything else except the shrimp, feta and sliced tomatoes and reduce until there is very little liquid. Prep a 9 x 9 pan with cooking spray, pour tomatoe mixture in pan; layer in all the shrimp and smoosh into the the tomatoe-y goodness, add sliced tomatoes over that, crumble feta, some sea salt, freshly ground pepper, and a drizzle of olive oil. Bake for 20 minutes, until fresh tomatoes lose their shape.

look how cute those ramekins are !! Each ramekin held a full non-WLS serving… i ate 3/4 of it before i hit the wall.

This makes 4 servings, 8 oz (1 CUP) for non-WLS, and 4 oz (1/2 CUP) for us gastronomically challenged (about 5-6 shrimp per serving)
Nuts are as follows for WLS portion:
Calories 168, fat 7.6g, carbs 7g, fiber 1g, protein 16.4g

Ken isn’t a fan of shrimp for dinner. I think he views shrimp as an appetizer so there are always questions of dessert when i make seafood. SO… because I am not partaking in dessert this week, I thought I would do some testing runs on him..

Mayan chocolate pudding anyone ?? fat-free, sf instant pudding with 1 tsp of cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp of chipolte spice…
we’ll see if I should have upped the heat in this bad boy post Ken consumption..heh

Actions

Information

One response

3 01 2011
boogy

mmm

this is sooooooooooo going on my list for later!

Leave a Reply

