Gingerbread… the final frontier

9 01 2011

Let the birth week festivities commence. I was talking to my fellow Capricorn and one of my oldest friends, Nikki (her birthday is on the 7th) and she reminded me that Capricorns celebrate the week, not just the day !
Looking at what I want to make for my birthday cake is probably why I started to obsess with gingerbread or any sort of loaf. Last week all I kept thinking about was lemon pound cake or lemon loaf. My mother was a stay at home mom, so we always had banana bread, or lemon loaf, so much so, we hated it growing up. It wasn’t a treat, but a way for my mom to give us “healthy” dessert.

I think gingerbread was a particular thorn in my side because of the molasses. Molasses is an added sugar, and a no-no for us RNYers. You always want what you can’t have UNTIL TODAY ! I feel like I am fat kid hoarding a box of smarties in my room, as I made this dessert today. What is even better is that there is a HUGE protein component to this cake, and it tastes good. It doesnt puff up like a traditional loaf, and it is slightly eggy, but all those things aside, it is better than no cake at all.

Gingerbread Happiness Cake

1 cup ground almond (almond meal)
1/2 cup vanilla whey protein
1 tsp baking soda
2.5 tsp ground ginger
0.5 tsp ground cinnamon
0.25 tsp of all spice (if you have it)
1/2 cup of splenda

1/2 cup of greek yogurt (or plain works too)
1/4 cup of canola oil (or peanut or any veggie oil)
1 tsp of molasses (at this amount it is OKAY for us RNYers)
1 egg
2 tbls water
1/2 cup shredded zucchini (uncooked – i used a cheese grater)

Preheat oven to 350 and PAM a 8 x 8 brownie pan (or 9 x 9)

In a large mixing bowl combine all of the dry ingredients (almond, protein, baking soda, salt, ginger, cinnamon, all spice, and splenda) and mix well, set aside.

Dry ingredients

In a separate bowl whisk the yogurt, oil, molasses, egg and water. Pour into the dry ingredients and combine. Add the zucchini to the mixed batter and stir.

Plunk the whole thing into the prepped baking dish and bake for 25 to 30 minutes.
Let cool and divide into 9 squares.
Apologies for the dreadful and uninspiring picture !

Nuts on this depend on your protein powder… I use EAS whey, which kicks out 25 grams of protein per scoop.
Calories 138, 7.5g of fat, 6.7g of carbs, 0.75g of fibre, 13g of protein
Not too shabby for a mid afternoon snack….

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

