True Grit Made Me Dream of Cornbread

12 01 2011

So we went to see this movie last Wednesday night with our friends Suzan, and her husband Paul. As we were watching the movie, I was thinking ‘OMG these cowboys must have really smelled” and “wow, I really want to eat some of that cornbread that he is eating”
While I can imagine their food wasnt the best tasting, as it had to be easily portable on horseback, and prepared over a fire, I started to want to make something cowboy inspired.
I dug out this old recipe for cowboy stew, as I had made it previously, and wasnt happy with the carb content. Now in maintenance, I have a bit more wiggle room with respect to carbs, but as well, I made sure I ate some of this stew on a day I was going to the gym. LOL

This is a great crock pot meal, and it originally comes to me via an email that Jude sent around with 5 billion Weight Watcher crock pot meals in it.

Cowboy Stew
adapted from Weight Watchers recipe

1 onion chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
1.25 lbs of stew beef (or pork) cut into smallish chunk
1 can of chopped green chilies (not hot)
1 chopped jalapeno (optional)
3 smallish yams, chopped into uniform and small chunks
1 22 oz can of baked beans (I used the steakhouse blend from Bush beans (US))
1 tbsp fresh cilantro
1 tbsp fresh lime juice
a couple of dashes of worcestershire sauce

1 tbsp flour – use only if it is too watery and you want to thicken it up

Throw everything into a crock pot, set on low for at least 8 hours. I found that the stew was a bit watery, so I added 1 tbsp of flour to 1/4 cup of water, mixed it into the stew half an hour before serving, turning the crock pot on high, so the flour thickened things up.

Nuts on this are okay.. i am really adverse to any added sugars, so using canned baked beans AND yams in the same recipe irks me a bit. I have to learn to relax a bit on this. The nutrition below does not include the tbsp of flour, which would add 1 more calorie per serving. LOL
Serving is half a cup of stew. Calories are 173, 8.8g of fat, 13.3g of carbs, 2 g of fiber, and 9g of protein.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

