Jess’ Thai Coconut Shrimp Soup

13 01 2011

My friend Jess just figured out that she has a sensitivity to milk, specifically the casein and whey in milk, which rules out sheep, and goat products as well (read cheese). It started me thinking what the heck would I do if I had to give up milks and milk proteins. I would be drinking a lot more almond milk, but the lack of cheese and protein would be so hard.

I made-tweaked this recipe as an “ode to Jess” as she does read my blog, and with her new sensitivity, a lot of recipes here need to be altered and would be lower in protein.

I think this recipe is great ! It tastes fantastic, it has high protein, and surprising good with fat given the coconut milk in it.

Coconut milk should be light, if you can find it, but the creaminess and thickness of the soup can be attributed to butternut squash, our lower carb sub for the potato. This recipe can be made on the stovetop in a dutch oven, or in a crock pot.


Thai Coconut Shrimp Soup

1 stalk lemongrass
4 cups butternut squash, cubed
1 can (398ml) lite coconut milk
2 cups low sodium chicken stock
1 tbsp Thai red curry paste
6 largish slices of ginger root
1.5 tsp fish sauce
1 tsp coconut sap (or brown sugar)
1 lb shrimp, cooked
2 tbsp chopped fresh basil

First of all, if you can’t find lemongrass, you aren’t really looking as I have found it at Metro and Superstore. What you want is a stalk that has a nice thick bulb at the end. Peel off any dried looking outer parts, smash the bulb with the butt end of your knife, and chop the thick stalk into inch sized pieces. Throw it into the pot. IF you really can’t find lemongrass, carefully extract the rind of one lemon and pop it into the pot.

Add chopped butternut squash, roughly chopped ginger (you will be removing ginger and lemongrass/lemon rind before you puree, so they are there just to add flavour), and add the rest of the ingredient with the exception of the shrimp and basil.
Let simmer for 4 to 6 hours on low, until the squash is tender.

After the 4 to 6 hours, fish out the ginger chunks and lemongrass stalks/lemon rind, and taste (you’ll be excited)

Use masher or hand blender and carefully blend the butternut squash until it is smooth. Add the shrimp and 2 tbsp of fresh basil and mix and serve.

Nutritionals are fun on this. This soup makes 8, 1-cup servings, with 3ish shrimp per serving (i used the extra large shrimp 26-30 count per pound). This could totally be vegetarian, with firm tofu cubes added OR even pre-cooked faux crab from the grocery store.
Calories are 150, 4.5g of fat, 10.6g of carbs, 1.6g of fiber, 16g of protein (43% protein !)

Actions

Information

12 responses

13 01 2011
Lynn

mmmmm

I went a year dairy and egg (and peanut and sesame) free while I nursed my daughter who was allergic to them all. At first I thought it was going to be impossible, but I found one of the best resources was Vegan cookbooks and blogs (Dreena Burton makes awesome stuff). Usually I would just use them for inspiration and then add back in the meat.

Looking forward to trying this one!

13 01 2011
Jude

Oh yum! Making this next week.

13 01 2011
geokatgirl

this soup is a good time. I just had some for “dinner” before heading out to Scarbs. Soup doesnt make me feel “stuffed” but because of the shrimp I am feeling very satisfied.

18 01 2011
jess

I will make it this weekend! You are so sweet-any ideas on how long the coconut milk lasts in tupperware in the fridge? I have half a can left from stroganoff weekend. Xo

18 01 2011
geokatgirl

Have a quick taste to see.. i would think it would be fine.

30 01 2011
Cat

Made this night, it was delish! Got the some fans to try this afternoon and now they all want the recipe! 🙂

30 01 2011
geokatgirl

Who ? The kids ??

15 02 2011
Cat

My brothers gf and my cousin Vanessa. I just sent them the recipe! JP and Andreina loved it too!

6 04 2011
lynn

Whoops. This is on the menu for dinner tonight, but I missed the 4 to 6 hours part. I guess we’ll see how boiling the sh*t out of it for 46 minutes works instead.

6 04 2011
geokatgirl

Boil it until the butternut is tender.. As long as you havent added the milk, boil away !!

I am going to make some tonight as well.. I have some tofu i want to use up. A failed lemon cheesecake attempt..worst flavour ever

18 09 2011
Fall Arrives & Buffalo Chicken-licious « Antics of a Museum Girl

[…] I have over 200 recipes on this blog! This past week I made a couple of tried and true recipes: Thai shrimp soup with butternut squash and lemongrass, frittatta, frijoles charros (which I realized I didn’t […]

7 12 2011
Pumpkin Protein Un-Bread « Antics of a Museum Girl

[…] today.. I am hot and cold on soup in general, as it is really a slider food but I made Jess’ Thai Coconut Shrimp Soup but jacked up the protein content (up to 24g per cup) by adding a half a package of silken tofu to […]

Leave a Reply

