A Weekend in the Kitchen- Cowboy Style

30 01 2011

This weekend I made a lot of our old stand bys. I am leaving midweek for Arizona so I wanted to set Ken up with some fast grab-able food that is healthy.

I always feel slightly guilty when I leave Ken for a week. I guess I am excited to go but truth be told, he is excited for a week of peace, quiet and mega-XBox 360 playing.

So I made something that I knew Ken would love.. buttering him up before I leave for 8 days. While this isnt the lowest carb thing going, I have shaved a lot of the carbs out of this by omitting baked beans, and corn. I figured the cornbread topping was enough. Nuts on this is totally fine and always remember to drain off the fat. Nuts dont reflect this, but the fat on this is WAY lower than quoted. I think I poured off almost half a cup off the browned meat.

Cowboy Skillet

1.5 lb of ground meat (i used elk so nuts reflect this)
1 tbsp Olive Oil
1/2 medium Onion, Sweet
2 middle size Red Pepper, chopped
2 tsp cumin
2 tsp chipotle, ground
2 tsp oregano
1 4 oz Green Chile Peppers, tinned
1/2 Canned Tomato Paste
1 cup water (or there about… to make a gravy)

1 1/2 cups Corn Muffin Mix, Unprepared (essentially one box of Jiffy cornbread mix or Bob’s Red Mill)
1 egg
1/3 cup 2% Milk
sliced jalapeno

Preheat oven 350.
This requires a nice cast iron skillet. Heat the skillet on medium, add the oil and let it heat up and add meat. Brown meat, and pour off all fat.
Add chopped onion and let it brown, about 3 minutes. Add chopped red peppers, and spices, and it them cook off for 3 minutes. Add green chiles, tomato paste and water and let it mix around and cook, until you get a gravy in the pan.

In a bowl, prepare the cornbread mix as per the instructions on the package. Pour carefully over the skillet meat and pop into the oven for 20 minutes. I placed jalapeno peppers in the raw dough.

Gorgeous !!

VOILA !! so good and so homey. The very best thing is that it all happens in one pan !! This makes 12 pie slices for WLS.
calories are 203, fat 8g, carbs 16 g , fiber 1 g, protein 14 g

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

