Lemon Curd & Liar Cake

31 01 2011

LEMONS!! When I went to the St Lawrence market last weekend there is the MOST beautiful citrus ! It is citrus season and there are Meyer lemons everywhere !! Smaller than a regular lemon, and it is thought to be a cross between a lemon and a mandarin. I love how small and cute they are and so I bought 6 of them thinking I would use them in something. I am a list girl, so “going rogue” for me is big thing.

I have been known in my “other” life (pre-surgery) to have a BIG love affair with Lemon squares.. I loved the shortbread base and the yummy tart filling. I always thought I could make these SF, as a LARGE part of the filling is egg based. This idea ALL came together for me when I cleaned out my cupboards last Monday (before garbage day) and found a bottle of malitol syrup ! Malitol is a sugar alcohol, and in this form, it was to be used to sub into recipes that required corn syrup.

Shout out to ask Georgie for the fabulous lemon poppyseed cake. I wasnt sure HOW much lemon curd this recipe was going to yield, so I made the cake as a vehicle for the lemon curd. Ken suggested a tweak to Georgie’s recipe in a very Kraft Kitchen, circa 1970s way. His mom use to make a lemon pound cake and added a box of lemon jello to the mix to make it super lemon-y. I figured I would test this out with this recipe.
My tweaks of Georgie’s recipe are bolded. This is a very forgiving recipe !


Lemon Curd

4 tbsp Butter
1 cup Malitol
2 egg
1 egg yolk
5 whole Meyer LEMONS, yielded 1/2 cup of juice

Get out a double boiler, but swear to me that you won’t turn this up on high, and proceed to make it in a normal pot. Cut the butter up in cute little chunks and set aside. Add everything else goes into the pot, or if you dont trust yourself, a double boiler.
Prepping the meyer lemons for lemon curd goodness !

Pop this on medium, with a wisk and let the heat do it’s thing. Ideally you’ll see thickening around 170 degrees.. I popped in my candy thermometer so I could be sure when to take it off. It starts thickening at 160ish… and waited until 170 to pull it and mix in the butter until melted.

I wanted to dive into it at this point because it tasted fricking awesome.
Put in an airtight container, with plastic film covering it, and put in the fridge. This container is 2 cups, so it yielded ALOT of curd. I might make some tarts with it as well.

Now to make the vehicle of the lemon curd… CAKE !

TWEAKED Lemon Liar Poppyseed Protein Cake
Adapted from ask Georgie

• Cooking oil spray
• 1 1/3 cups white whole wheat flour (or gluten free flour)
**I used 1 cup whole wheat, and 1/3 cup of coconut flour
• 2 scoops vanilla whey protein powder
• 1 cup Splenda granulated or 2/3 cup sugar
** tweak, 1/3 cup of Splenda & 1 pkg of sf lemon jello
• 2 tablespoons poppy seeds
• 2 teaspoons baking powder
• ½ teaspoon baking soda
• ½ teaspoon salt
• 2 teaspoons lemon zest
• 1½ cups nonfat plain Greek yogurt
• ¾ cup unsweetened applesauce
• 1 tablespoon canola or macadamia nut oil
• 2 ½ teaspoons lemon extract
• 2 eggs

1. Preheat oven to 325°F. Coat a 9×13″ pan thoroughly with cooking oil spray.
2. In a large mixing bowl, combine flour, whey, Splenda, lemon jello, poppy seeds, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and zest; stir to mix.
3. In a separate large mixing bowl, stir together yogurt, applesauce, oil, lemon extract, and egg. Add dry ingredients to wet ones, and stir just until uniformly moistened. Pour batter into pan.

A marriage made in lemon heaven !! Literally Ken was exclaiming “OMG this is awesome”. He came back into the kitchen with an empty plate and said “you wouldn’t even know this was sugar free” I knew this was a winner ! A bow to ask Georgie for the fabulous cake recipe and a bow to the Meyer lemon Gods !

Nuts on the cake are the same as originally posted for 12 squares per pan:
Per serving: 125 calories, 3 g total fat, 1 g saturated fat, 40 mg cholesterol, 15 g total carbohydrate, 2 g dietary fiber, 3 g sugar, 10 g protein, 261 mg sodium.

Curd at 1 tbsp amounts (makes 32 servings) adds:
33 calories, fat 1.8gm carb 3.7g, Protein 0.5g

Actions

Information

2 responses

31 01 2011
Georgie Fear

Well that was a joy to read!!! Looks fabulous! I bought some coconut flour recently but haven’t tried using it yet 🙂

I love your ideas!!!!

Georgie

12 02 2011
Feeling the Love… and a cold « askGeorgie.com

[…] a link to a blogger playing with my Lemon Poppy Bar recipe – and her version looks darned good! Haha she calls it “Liar […]

Leave a Reply

