Best of Intentions & Boozy Pork Ribs

14 02 2011

I had the best of intentions to update my blog whilst in Tucson, Arizona. I managed one post before the wheels fell off that cart. I ate amazing food in Tucson.. it was avocado season and they were giving them away for 3 for $1. YUM !

Me at a local coffee roaster – Savaya Coffee Market

I also went to a local outdoor market and bought many local and fantastic products, like mesquite flour, an ancient flour milled from bean pods of the mesquite tree, heirloom native dried beans, and freshly dried and local peppers and spices. I could not wait to come home and give them a try.

I have also been eating out for 8 days straight, so I needed something homey, but more importantly light. Again, I had the best of intentions to eat well, but I didnt deny myself an occasional burrito or glass of red wine.

First recipe was this chicken tortilla soup with smoked chipolte spice and some dried California peppers added.

I also ate real southern BBQ down in Tucson.. where the sauce lacked any sugar, and it was a thinner sauce. I have been tinkering with BBQ sauce with minimal success. This BBQ sauce is a winner !! Most low carb sauce at best is mediocre, but this sauce seems to have some guts.
I had some pork ribs in the freezer and a crock pot waiting.. so I threw everything in this morning and have been dipping my finger into the sauce all afternoon.

Jack Daniels & Molasses BBQ Pork Rib – Slow Cooker

2 lbs of pork ribs, sectioned into 2 ribs each
2 tbsp molasses
1/4 cup of Jack Daniels
1 tbsp dried minced onion or fresh green onion – 3 stalks
1 tbsp minced garlic
2 tbsp Splenda granular
pinch of cinnamon
1 tsp sweet paprika
1 tsp red chili sauce (i used Trader Joe)
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp cider vinegar
2 tbsp tomato paste

Assemble ingredients and set up your crock pot. This will simmer on low for 8 hours.

Mix all but the pork ribs together in the crock pot. Nestle the sets of 2 ribs into the mixture coat, and flip. This makes up about a cup of sauce which didnt look like enough when I started off, but it was plenty… Have faith. Crank crock pot on low and cook for 8 hours. Drain fat as pork ribs will give off fat, especially if you want to slather sauce on pork ribs for serving.

mmmm… Ken’s dinner !

Nuts on this is only quoted for the BBQ sauce on a per tablespoon basis. One tablespoon is :
33 calories, 0.04g of fat, 5.4 g of carbs, 0.8g of protein. So while there is molasses in this, it really isnt a huge carb hit in moderation.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

