Day 2 of Peanut Week

15 02 2011

Peanut butter truffles you say ? Well let’s just see about this. I, on occasion, will bring a “treat” to my Thursday night coffee gang. Partially so I can test out new “material” on them, partially because a few of the ladies had DS and still can eat sugar so they are my litmus for “is this really good ?” vs “is this really good for being sugar free”. If a sugar eater is going back for seconds on sugar free goods you know you have something.

I love peanut butter, I love baking and alchemy, and I love peanut butter flour. I have used in many recipes and it really gives you the flavour without all the added fat. I bought it many moons ago thinking it would be fabulous for a peanut butter shortbread.

VIVA la Peanut Butter !!

I was cruising around the internet and found this great recipe from Carolyn (All Day I Dream about Food). Shout out to Carolyn for this fabulous recipe that is completely great for those who have had WLS and need to keep a low-carb, no sugar diet. My tweaks are in bold.

Peanut Butter Cookie Dough Truffles
Filling:
5 tbsp butter
1/4 cup peanut butter (preferably natural) **and crunchy !!
1/4 cup granulated erythritol
16 drops stevia extract
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup peanut flour **bulk barn, PB2 etc.

Coating:
2 tbsp butter
1 bar Lindt 85% cacao chocolate **i used sf chocolate chips from Bulk barn- about 3 ounces

For the filling, line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Place butter and peanut butter in a microwave-safe bowl, and melt together in the microwave, stirring occassionally.

Stir in erythritol, stevia and vanilla. Add peanut flour in three batches, stirring to combine well each time. Dough will get quite stiff towards the end. ** if you are using a natural peanut butter, they can tend to have varying amounts of oil separation. If your batter isnt coming off the sides of your bowl, throw in a bit more peanut flour until this occurs.

Working with about 1/2 a tablespoon at a time, roll dough between palms into round balls. Place on baking sheet and freeze (refrigerated mine) until very firm, about 1 hour.

For the coating, melt butter and chocolate together in a small saucepan over low heat, stirring until smooth.

Using a toothpick, spear peanut butter balls one at a time and dip into chocolate. Tap lightly against the side of the pan to remove excess chocolate. Place back on parchment-lined baking sheet Repeat with remaining balls and refrigerate until set, about 1 hour.

Ta DA !!

Ken LOVES these things.. but note these are not great on the protein, so treat them as a treat, not as a staple..heh
I made a batch with chocolate coating and a batch without, and Ken prefers the naked ones. One batch made 24 balls for me.
Nuts on these are for 2 balls per serving:
calories are 104, fat 8.25g, carbs 7.08g, fibre 1.3g, protein 5.3g

Actions

Information

4 responses

17 02 2011
Lynn

I’ve already added one to my sparkpeople calculations for the day.
Come on 7 pm! 😉
A super extra treat for me since I have to keep our dang house peanut free and oh how do I miss the nut.

7 04 2011
jude

i am going to make them for passover for the diabetics. they are going to be PSYCHED!

13 05 2013
My Breakup with Peanut Butter & Lime Cashew Truffles | Antics of a Museum Girl

[…] because it has a very subtle taste and I thought instead of peanut butter truffles like in this recipe, I could try a fruity version with the cashew butter. This is the time of year that I crave lemon […]

15 10 2013
(NOT) Pecan Pie Truffles | Antics of a Museum Girl

[…] and Bridge Mix. Ken use to say I had the sweet tooth of a 65 year old woman. So after making the peanut butter truffles, I started to mull over how I would make truffles that were a mix between rum balls (which are […]

Leave a Reply

