Unholy Yet Delicious – Peanut Week !

17 02 2011

So while bacon is the "in" ingredient for the moment, and it seems to dominate the food side of the internet, I need to assure you that I am not on the "bacon in everything" bandwagon. Bacon has a place in my kitchen, no more, no less than it did five years ago before it became a flavour trend.

As part of Peanut Week, I have been experimenting with peanuts and peanut butter in a savoury way, so when I saw this recipe in a low carb cookbook, I thought it was a brilliant idea. Low carbers can tend to love their fat, so I mod-ed this up to cut some of the fat.

Gotta say these were incredibly delicious.. i was SO surprised at how delicious. They weren't hot, the jalapenos were not hellish to de-seed nor did I have an oppsies with rubbing my body with "omg-my-God-I-was-touching-jalapenos" hands. I actually think I prefer these to Jalapeno Poppers, in all of their cream cheese-deep fried-goodness. Crucify me Jalapeno Popper lovers, but this is a REALLY GOOD TIME.

Ken let out a bit of a groan as he popped the whole thing in his mouth last night. he then proceeded to come up with cool names for this new app. He really likes "Mexician Squirrel Snacks" but I am not embracing it. Post any suggestions for a possible name in the comments !!

I made a small batch of these with 4 jalapenos, and 4 strips of bacon.. this is completely scalable for a larger crowd.

Peanut Butter Jalapenos Wrapped in Bacon

4 fresh jalapenos
4 strips of bacon
2 tbsp of peanut butter (I used whipped)

Preheat oven to 350, and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper (makes clean up a breeze). Carefully cut off tops of jalapenos, slice lengthwise and de-seed the jalapeno. Smear 1/2 tablespoon of peanut butter into the jalapeno vessel, and wrap each with a half slice of bacon.

<

Bake in a 350 oven for 25 minutes. You can serve these warm or cold, either way is delicious. I made up a batch as I was making dinner last night.

Nuts on these are per jalapeno, and you could further reduce the cals and fat by using a mixture of PB2 and water.
Calories 77, fat 6g, Carb 1.7g, Fiber 0.7g, Protein 4.6g

Actions

Information

6 responses

17 02 2011
Cat

Party in my mouth!!! πŸ™‚ absolutely delicious!! Not sure of a good name but I think of something. πŸ˜‰

17 02 2011
Ken

Squirrel Nut Zippers!!
~~K~~

19 02 2011
Cat

Nuts in a Hot Pig Blanket! Too long?? Lol

19 02 2011
Cat

Kath, do you have your slaw recipe on here?

19 02 2011
geokatgirl

I am posting it tonight.. Last day of Peanut week !!

26 05 2011
Sonya

Squirrel nut zippers. HANDS DOWN the best name for this app.

Leave a Reply

