SOUP – Peanut Week continues !

18 02 2011

Where peanut butter comes from ! Cartoon by Natalie Dee

So peanut week continues and I have to say this has been fun. I wanted to push the envelope and make things that are not traditional desserts with peanuts and peanut butter. I tested two more peanut recipes, one for yesterday and one for today. I have to say yesterday’s recipe was extremely successful and this one needs some work.

I love my West African Peanut Stew, and thought about incorporating it into a traditional a southern Peanut soup. I needed to circumvent the traditional base of sweet potatoes in this soup, so I subbed in my good friend pumpkin. I was worried that the protein wasn’t going to be high enough to balance out the carbs, and I was right. Second try for this recipe will be with added protein, because the peanuts alone aren’t enough. What I would do next time is in bold, and will quote nuts for the original version and the chicken (or tofu) version at the end of the post.

Pumpkin Peanut Soup

1/2 tbsp coconut oil (or EVOO)
1/2 shallot, chopped
1 clove of garlic, minced
1 tsp of freshly chopped ginger
1 cup pumpkin puree
1/2 cup of milk (or cream..i used milk)
3/4 cup of chicken stock
3 tbsp of peanut butter (I used spicy PB, imaged below)
1/4 cup of roasted peanuts
a couple tablespoons of chopped fresh cilantro
a healthy squirt of garlic hot sauce
2 cups of cooked chicken

Heat soup pot up and plop in your oil to heat. Add chopped shallots-onions and saute for 7 minutes. Add ginger and garlic and saute until they become soft.

Plop in pureed pumpkin, milk and stock and combine. Let mixture heat up and add peanut butter and de-shelled peanuts.
This is the peanut butter I used, but any natural PB would do.

Stir and taste for seasoning. I used some hot sauce, cilantro and a dash of Adobe seasoning to round out this recipe. This is where I would throw in the chopped pre-cooked chicken and combine. It may need a bit more stock with the added chicken, which shouldn’t really affect the bottom line.

totally a do over recipe, especially if I open a big can of pumpkin to use for biscotti or other things and have it kicking around.
Serving size quoted is for half a cup.
Nuts (pre chicken)
Calories 173, fat 10.8g, carbs 16g, Fiber 3.25g, protein 6g (13 net carbs)

Nuts (post chicken)Calories 144, fat 6.6g, carbs 8g, fiber 1.6g, protein 14g (net carbs 6.4g)
Mucho better with chicken ! Really though, chicken makes everything better !

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

