Cheeseburger PIE ?!

22 02 2011

I came home on Friday just fried, and realized I hadn’t really planned anything for dinner. We were off to the market the next day, so ingredients in the house were sort of hit or miss. I have had this recipe for awhile, not knowing what to do with it, as I wasnt really jazzed about using Bisquick baking mix for a dinner. It seemed to carby for me. Eggface uses pancake mix for her baking, but essentially it is a version of bisquick. I was reading another food blog and they had mentioned Bob Red Mill low carb baking mix and I picked some up thinking I was going to make some more protein donuts, and never got around to it.

Enter Cheeseburger Pie.

Cheeseburger Pie

1 lb of cooked ground meat (i used ground sirloin as it is lean)
1 onion, chopped and fried
1 clove of garlic, fried up with onions and meat
1 cup shredded cheese

1 cup milk
1/2 cup of Bob’s gluten free baking mix
2 eggs

preheat oven to 400 and pre-grease a pie dish. Brown meat, onions and garlic in pan, drain fat, and place into prepped pie plate. Sprinkle cheese over browned meat mixture.

In bowl, mix milk, eggs, baking powder and spice (if you choose to add any). Pour over browned meat, and pop into the oven. I placed a piece of bacon on the top as I wanted to be fancy.

Cook for 30 minutes and pull out. Check by dipping a knife into the pie to see if it set. The top will look like it is done, but it still could be a gooey mess underneath.
Let cool for 5 minutes and slice and serve.

HOW EASY IS THAT ???

The nice thing about this recipe is that it isn’t meat specific AND you can jazz it up. Say you want to do a Denver Pie ? add ham, cheese, and peppers! OR Mexician inspired, and add some cumin, green chiles, and a dash of spice.
Endless possibilites. What is even better is the nuts. I was really leary of calculating these as I kinda felt this was a once and awhile sort of dish. Boy, was I wrong ! I felt like I ate a BIG piece, and that it completely worked into my protein and carb needs. HURRAY !
Pie was sliced into 8 pieces, WLS was 1 slice.
Calories 207, Fat 8,6g, Carbs 11.8g, 19.3 g of protein

Actions

Information

6 responses

23 02 2011
Jude

Where did you get the baking mix stuff??

Ps: I am in Tokyo!

23 02 2011
geokatgirl

Mr Roboto !!! How was the flight ??
I got the mix at Whole Foods, $7.99. I have seen it at Loblaws and Metro !

24 02 2011
Jude

Flight to Tokyo was great and flew by. But our plane to Bangkok went mechanical and we got delayed nearly 6 hours in Tokyo. We were tired and had crap seats which made the 6 hr flight to Bangkok miserable. Holy crap did my feet ever swell! We’re hangin at the hotel tonight and doing our elephant thing tmw am. Ttyl xoxoxo

24 02 2011
geokatgirl

whisper a secret into the elephant’s ear !! it seems like the thing to do

11 03 2011
Cat

It’s in the oven!! So easy! 🙂

11 03 2011
geokatgirl

Yeah.. And it is a basis for jazzing

Green chiles or chipolte next time !!
You’ll really like it.. Easy to eat, nice sized serving, low carbs and good protein !

Leave a Reply

