Cabbage Rolls That Don’t Cause Rolls !

23 02 2011

I feel truly neglectful !! I have been making these wonderful cabbage rolls for almost two years assuming I had posted this recipe years ago. I guess I hadn’t. I love cooked cabbage, and sauerkraut, so cabbage rolls are all this rolled into one pot. My mother always had a hate on for cabbage rolls as she said they took too much time to make. As an adult, the first time I made them I thought “these are so easy to make !”.
The key with a lower carb lifestyle is to omit the rice from the cabbage roll, and for me, I go without the panko-bread crumb filler as well. As I have a weird love for cabbage, I squeeze out all the juice from 1/2 cup of sauerkraut and add it into the meat to give it a bit of crunch and texture.

I should mention that the quality of the images are the pits.. I dropped my camera phone and I think I may have permamently buggered it.

Kat’s No-Rice Cabbage Rolls

1 lb Ground Turkey
1 egg
2 tbsp Onions, Dehydrated Flakes
1 tbsp Garlic Powder
1 tsp Spices – Smoked Paprika
2 oz Chorizo Sausage
1/2 cup Bavarian Sauerkraut
8- 10 leaves of cabbage, and some chopped on the side

1/2 can of tomatoe paste
rest of the large can of sauerkraut (28 oz can)
chicken stock

Get out a large dutch oven and boil some water. As the water is heating up, chop off the bottom of the cabbage, and carefully peel back 8 large sized leaves. Place in dutch oven, and pour hot water over cabbage and let sit for 10 minutes.

Cabbage leaves soaking in hot water, and turkey mixture being prepared

In another bowl, dump in the ground meat of your choice, spices, onion, egg, sauerkraut, chopped up chorizo and mix with your hands. It will feel very wet, but don’t worry, everything will firm up

Once the leaves are limp (about 10 minutes) I take them out of the pot, drain the water, and add my ingredients to nest the new cabbage rolls in. Usually half a can of sauerkraut, half a can of tomatoe paste, paprika and some chopped up fresh cabbage.

I use a 1/4 cup scoop to get the same amount of meat in every cabbage roll

Scoop into the cabbage leaf, fold the sides in, and roll, placing the cabbage roll, seam side down in the pot. Repeat. If you have extra meat, I use the same scoop, and make meatballs out of them, and pop them into the pot, naked. Ideally, you want to make 10 scoops of meat from this recipe, as that is what the nuts reflect.

Once you have exhausted all your meat, and everything is in the pot, add the rest of the sauerkraut from the can, and use chicken stock to bring up the liquid just until it almost covers the cabbage rolls.

All ready for a couple of hours of simmering

Simmer for a couple of hours. As I mentioned above, this should make 10 cabbage rolls, or 10 pockets of meat. The cabbage is a nice added fiber factor so if you just eat the turkey meatballs, you can subtract the fiber component, as the overall calories are not effected by the adding or subtracting of the cabbage. I serve mine with a scoop of sour cream OR greek yogurt if I dont have any sour cream kicking around in the fridge. Nuts quoted are only for the cabbage roll.
Calories 128 per cabbage roll, 5.5 g of fat, 7.5g of carbs, 2.6 g of fiber (so net carbs are less than 5 !!) and 13g per protein.

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 03 2011
jess

These are simmering as we speak…I made a lot of minor tweaks…but I hope they still taste good! So easy!

5 03 2011
geokatgirl

How’d they turn out JKL ??

Leave a Reply

