Liquids : Day 2

7 03 2011

Way too many liquids.. I feel like my back teeth are floating !


Image courtesy of Natalie Dee

I am doing well with the liquids thing and the 5 day pouch test. I decided to start it yesterday as I was hanging out the Mining Convention and thought it might be easier to pound down a couple of shakes as I was chatting with people. I have virtually NO head hunger, which is super nice. I felt more like treating myself after my stint at the convention because I worked on a Sunday. Have to watch the whole “reward with food” thing.

Yesterday and today, shakes-water all day and Ham and Cheese Soup for dinner. I searched around and I noticed I hadnt posted this recipe yet. Those who have had gastric bypass OR those who love a good hearty soup will like this. I find that this soup has a lot of franken-foods in it, something I dont like to think about too much. I make a batch of this and freeze it in 2 cup portions for a rainy day or when I do a cleanse.

Ham & Cheese Soup
courtesy of 5DayPouchTest

2 Tablespoons butter
1/2 cup carrots, chopped
1/4 cup onion, chopped
2 Tablespoons flour
1 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon dry mustard
6 cups chicken broth
12 ounces Velveeta Light, shredded (**i use real cheese)
8 ounces lite firm silken tofu, diced
10 ounces deviled ham (2 cans) (**eek but just go with it)
1 cup sour cream, light
salt and pepper, to taste
1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
parsley, for garnish

In a large Dutch Oven over medium heat butter. Add carrots and onion and saute until soft and translucent. Stir in flour, paprika and dry mustard using a whisk. Cook for 2 minutes then slowly add the chicken broth whisking to prevent lumps. When soup is thickened add shredded Velveeta, the diced tofu and ham. Cook on a low simmer for 20 minutes stirring occasionally.

Remove from heat and stir in sour cream. Add salt and pepper to taste and serve garnished with a sprinkle of Parmesean cheese and a sprig of parsley.

Servings: 10

Nuts are per 1-cup serving: 264 calories. 19 grams protein, 15 grams fat (8 saturated) and 12 grams carbohydrate.

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 03 2011
jess

Canned ham? Velveeta?

I want my kat back!

7 03 2011
geokatgirl

Seriously right ? I wont even consider
Using any recipe that has ‘open one can
Of mushroom soup mix’ but for some reason
I made this soup !!
I think only under the guise of WLS tummy would I ever buy canned ham. Shopping for canned ham was quite the experience.. There are so many kinds !
This soup is good in a franken-food Kraft kitchen sort of way… And the protein rocks in it !

Leave a Reply

