A Leave of my Senses a la Charlie Sheen

10 03 2011

SO…. Day 5 of my pouch test thingy, and I feel great. I really dont think I eat enough carbs to even remotely need to wean off anything. My weight hasnt changed, nor do I feel any tightness. This whole thing was an exercise in showing me I am doing a pretty darn good job. Kudos to me !

We havent had any biscotti in the house in awhile, so this coming weekend, with our protein coffee, I like to have something snacky to munch. So I took a leave of my senses a la Charlie Sheen knowing this isnt in the 5 day plan, as I was suppose to eat a stick of meat for snack, and decided last night I was going to throw caution to the wind and make up my own protein ball recipe.
SO old school.. so good, and so good for you.

Charlie Sheen Protein Snacks
recipe by ME !

1 cup of sf maple syrup
1 cup of protein powder (i used chocolate but you can use anything you want)
1/2 cup of natural almond butter
1/2 cup of natural peanut butter
1/4 cup of cocoa, best you can afford

1/2 cup of pepitas
1/2 cup of peanuts
2 cups of high fibre oatmeal, dry
1/2 cup of pecans
1/2 cup of almond meal

Mix the first group of ingredients together in a bowl. Add the second half of ingredients until you can’t stir the mixture anymore. The amount of dry ingredients you add is somewhat dependent on how moist your peanut butter and almond butter are. If you dont have almond meal, sub in coconut etc. You get the idea !

Roll each ball with your hands. I used my 2 tbsp coffee scoop to make sure they were all the same size. Place on wax paper-parchment paper and they will harden up. Store in fridge.

This made 60 balls !

Nuts on these are for 2 per serving. Be careful with these, as they are easy to just pop into your mouth !
Nuts are 132 calories, 7.5g of Fat, 8.8g of carbs (6.8g of effective carbs), 9.2g of protein.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

