THAT ISN’T DINNER, IT’S DIP !

12 03 2011

Allow me to rant a moment ! I was reading a thread on chowhounds and a gentlemen had posted his “go to” low carb recipes. So OF course I click over to have a look and print one of them out. The recipe in question is a casserole with a cauliflower base, not unlike my “adult mac and cheese” or “Nova Scotia fish bake” recipes in previous posts.
It is a rainy snowy grey mess in Toronto, so I thaw the meat for the casserole in the fridge overnight. It wasnt until this morning that I scanned the recipe further to see that the recipe called for ONE BRICK OF CREAM CHEESE. Seriously ?

I scan to the bottom of the recipe to read that 1/12th of this recipe has ONLY 27g of fat but only 3g of net carbs. Talk about cutting off your nose despite your face ! I had this surgery to BE healthy, not consume more than half of my daily fat in one meal.
This isnt dinner, this is a dip !

I can do better… we all are better than this Kraft kitchen fat laden mess. Here is my more forgiving and less FAT casserole. I think the next time I will make the sauce as I have in mac and cheese, a roux based sauce.

Mushroom, Chicken & Sausage Casserole Dinner not DIP
adapted

3.5 cups of cauliflower (essential an entire cauliflower) roasted in 9 x 13 pan
3 cups of pre-cooked, chopped chicken
1 celery stalk, chopped
1 onion, chopped
1/2 lb (8 ounces) of sliced mushroom
1 cup (8 ounces) of shredded cheddar
3/4 cup of cottage cheese, 2%
1/4 cup of cream cheese
1/2 cup of low fat ricotta
1/2 cup of 2% milk

Pop cauliflower into a 9 x 13 casserole dish into a 400 degree oven to roast. You can also use pre-boiled cauliflower or frozen. I generally like the flavour that roasted gives.

Cauliflower roasted and ready to go.

Add the cooked chicken to the cauliflower, mix, and set the whole thing aside.
In a large pan saute onions, mushrooms, celery until tender. Add the pork sausage, casings removed, and saute until cooked.

Use a slotted spoons and scoop all the sauted stuff into the pan with the chicken and cauliflower. Be mindful that the pork sausage released some fat so dont dump the whole pan !
Wipe out saute pan and add the creamy ingredients with the shredded cheese, and heat over low until combined.

It is white and very goo like. Will admit it is tasty. At this point I havent added any spices at all. With the pork sausage being slightly spiced and salted, I was wary of over seasoning. I did add a nice shot of hot sauce, and some smoked paprika to the white goo and mixed it into my casserole dish.
I sliced a fresh jalapeno on the top, and sprinkled some more smoked paprika and popped it into the oven at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.
Ready for the oven

Time for DINNER ! This is Ken’s plate, and i served it with some fresh spinach on the side, with a dash of balsamic vinegar.

This makes quite a lot, 16-1/2 cup servings. My suggestion is to make half of this recipe OR it would be a great casserole for a pot luck. The fat listed in the nuts doesnt take into consideration that couple of tbps that came out of the sausage, so while this seems sort of high, the reality is lower than the 10 grams quoted. Calories 190, Fat 10g, Carbs 4g, Fiber 1 g, Protein 19.7g

Actions

Information

4 responses

13 03 2011
My Grandparents' Kitchen

A gourmet who thinks of calories is like a tart who looks at her watch. ~James Beard

13 03 2011
geokatgirl

I laugh at this quote as yesterday I made some smaltz up
For use in some soup later this week. I am not opposed to fat
And calories, but my beef is a block of philly cream cheese
Seems so Kraft kitchen. The recipe would be 100 times better
Served with a simple roux based cream sauce. Americans tend
To just use too many convenience foods that dont serve to make the
Recipe better.

13 03 2011
jess

Reminds me of the woman eating the philly brick at the street car stop. The fat girl in me was dying to know what kind of ice cream bar it was. Then I figured out by the blue card thing.

*shudder*

13 03 2011
geokatgirl

I thought the same thing when I was making this Jess !!

Leave a Reply

