All Day I Dream About Food

20 03 2011

I feel like this cat by the end of this week…. March Break is over for another year ! Hurray !

This has been a challenging week. March Break at the museum means large crowds, and extra programming. We had a great program this year, polishing rocks, but at the end of the week I was BURNT out.
After coming down to the department I sat at my desk, slightly in shell shock, got my coat on and headed over to Whole Foods to poke around the aisles before I treated myself to a well earned cab ride home.

I grabbed a couple of things, some pre-made edamame hummus, a large bottle of water, sf cookies and almond meal (flour).
I had in my head I wanted chocolate, peanut butter and almond muffins. They are a good treat without too much damage.
Ken loves muffins and who doesn’t love ones that are high in protein, lower in carbs and taste like a Reese peanut butter cup? This is from a blog called All Day I Dream About Food. Her pictures are gorgeous and more importantly she is a low carb, gluten free baker. A kindred spirit for sure.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Muffins

from All Day I Dream About Food

1 cup almond flour
1/2 cup peanut flour *(I ran out so I added more almond meal)
1/4 cup vanilla whey protein powder
1/4 cup granulated erythritol
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt

4 oz cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup peanut butter
2 tbsp almond milk
2 large eggs
16 drops stevia extract
1/2 or 1 sf chocolate bar, dark chocolate

Preheat oven to 300F and line a 12-cup muffin tin with paper or silicone liners.

In a medium bowl, whisk together nut flours, whey powder, erythritol, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

In a large bowl, beat cream cheese until smooth. Add peanut butter and almond milk and beat until combined. Add eggs and stevia extract and beat until combined, but do not overbeat.

Add dry ingredients in two batches, beating until just combined. Stir in chocolate chips.

Divide batter among prepared muffin cups. Bake for 30 minutes or until tops are set and golden brown.

It makes 12 sacred muffins. Hoard these muffins because your sig other or kids will eat them.

Nuts on this are as follows:
Calories 160, Fat 10.78g, Carb 10.44g, Fiber 0.67g, Protein 10.25g

Actions

Information

5 responses

20 03 2011
haijude

wow 10 carbs. that’s amazing. they look yummy!

20 03 2011
geokatgirl

Yeah… these are fabulous.. the almond meal makes them slightly elevated in fat, but it is only because the carbs are super low. Most store bought muffins have WAY more fat in them.

20 03 2011
Sonya

Ok .. I can attest these are a GOOD TIME.

20 03 2011
geokatgirl

This is the highest compliment EVER ! Sonya is not only a gourmand but her affinity does lean to the dessert side of life. She can eat sugar. It is always good when you find something a sugar lover will happily eat. Her partner gobbled up 3 pumpkin cheesecakes on NYE and it made me misty-eyed !

20 03 2011
My Grandparents' Kitchen

You and me both 🙂

“I feel a recipe is only a theme, which an intelligent cook can play each time with a variation.”
– Madame Benoit

Leave a Reply

