Babes & Casseroles:Things that make you go AHH

27 03 2011

I was on tap for babysitting this Friday. I haven’t seen my adorable niece and nephew since just after Christmas, and with kids, things change so fast. Henry is a full on adult masked in a 3 year old body, and Claire is in this wonderful round chubby baby phase, almost crawling.
Henry is watching the Smurf and by his expression isnt so sure whether this is for him. I liked that whenever Smurfette came on, he rolled his eyes.

And baby Claire.. all rosy cheeked, fuzzy hair and cute. I could just eat her. I really like that she is totally in love with Henry, and spends a lot of time checking around to see where he is. She is laughs at all his jokes.

After a stellar night of babysitting, we had a proper wake-funeral to attend the next afternoon. As I wasnt sure of the food situation, I had originally planned on making some chicken rellenos with some chicken breasts, but I didn’t have time for assembly, so I just took ALL the components of this dish and casserole-d it, so whenever we got home, I could pop it into the oven to heat up.
I just gotta say, this is frickin’ delicious. I feel the window for casseroles is coming to a close, as spring weather will soon be here. Casseroles are warm comfort “ahhhhh” food, where spring and summer are fresh salad season. I can’t wait !!

Chili and Chicken Rellenos
from me !

# 1 tbsp olive oil
# 1 3/4 lb Chicken Breast (boneless,skinless)
# 1 cup grated cheese (whatever you have going
# 1 pepper Chiles Poblanos, chopped (or whatever you have)
# 1 medium Onion, Sweet
# 1/3 cup Chicken Stock
# 1 can Diced Green Chilies
# 2 cloves Garlic Clove
# 1/4 cup Cilantro, fresh
# 1/2 cup Greek Yogurt 0% Mf
# 3 tbsp Lime Juice Raw
# 4 oz Cream Cheese, Light

So grab a 9 x 13 pan, and prep it with a bit of non-stick spray. Get out a nice deep saute pan and saute up a bit of onion, garlic, and the chopped up pepper until soft. Add chicken, cut up in bits, and cook until firm and no signs of pink. There should be some nice juices from the chicken, which will make your dish taste yum. Add fresh-from frozen cilantro and let that limp up. I then add the lime juice, and deglaze the plan, making sure to scrap the bottom of the pan. You want all that yummy browned material from the bottom as it adds flavour.

Dump in chilis from the can, chicken stock, cream cheese, and yogurt and it let that all melt and come together. If the mixture is too dry, or not saucy enough, add a bit more chicken stock. Throw in shredded cheese, and stir to incorporate. Have a big taste at this point. It may need some heat, if you so choose. I sprinkled smoked chili flakes on the top of my casserole once it was in the pan. The flavour is delicious with the two types of peppers.


You can pop this into a 350 degree oven for 30 minutes, or I saraned ours and popped it into the fridge until I was ready to bake it. Essentially all the components of this are already cooked, so it is a heat and eat deal.


This makes 5 cups of casserole, so 10 WLS servings. I warn you that this is extremely delicious..and you may want to lick your plate.
Calories 213, Fat 10.92g, Carbs 4.78g (3.5g net carbs), Protein 24.1 g
45% protein, 50% fat, 8% carbs
Not an everyday meal, but definitely one you will enjoy.

Actions

Information

5 responses

27 03 2011
Georgie Fear

That looks positively delicious!! Bookmarking to make soon!

Thanks!!

Georgie

27 03 2011
geokatgirl

Thanks Georgie.. I will admit to licking my plate! I serve this warm next to a handful of fresh baby spinach, and the sauce made the spinach wilt and yummy. We are having some for lunch today, so i am sure it will be better on the re-heat.

27 03 2011
boogy

drrooooooooooooooooollll

Now I almost hope it’s cold next week so I can add this into rotation

27 03 2011
boogy

Your niece and nephew are totally adorable!

27 03 2011
geokatgirl

Thanks Lynn.. They are so fun !!
Enjoy this.. It is really yummy and the kids will like it if you dont spice it up too much.

Leave a Reply

