Not Quite Cheesecake Cups

14 04 2011

SO… I have been trying to stock our house with ready made protein snacks. We are at our limit with protein balls, so I wanted to try and find pudding cups that tasted delicious and dessert-y but had a good protein component as well. My two go to recipes have been pumpkin bake and lemon liar cake, but I am always on the hunt for something new and exciting.

I made these up as I had all the ingredients in the house and thought “what the heck”. I do like that this recipe is adaptable to making different flavours, like maybe peanut butter as you can add a non-flavoured gelatin to the mix, so the sky is the limit. I am already thinking maybe peanut butter chocolate OR cappuccino flavoured.
This time I picked lime, as all I had in my cupboard was sf lime jello, and i DO have lime extract- WIN WIN

I whipped the whole thing up in one bowl, it required NO baking, and it all set in half an hour. I did make this in a bowl and used a hand immersion blender.. which didn’t give me the consistency I was looking for. My recommendation would be to crack out the food processor or blender and whiz the crap out of this before you pour it in individual bowls.

Not Quite Cheesecake Cups

1 pkg of sf jello dissolved in 1/2 cup of boiling water
1 scoop of protein ( i used vanilla as chocolate would have been weird with this flavour)
2 cups of 2% cottage cheese
1/4 cup of softened, low fat cream cheese
1 tsp extract (lime in this case)

Turn on kettle, and pour jello in small side bowl. Once kettle boils, add 1/2 cup of boiling water, mix and set aside.
Throw the cream cheese, and cottage cheese in the food processor and whiz until smooth-ish. Add liquid jello , protein, and extract and whiz this around until you can’t see a chunk of the cottage cheese.
I will admit the colour was crazy green and a bit off putting.

Hmm.. while these dont exactly taste like The Cheesecake Factory cheesecakes, you can’t deny they are delicious and that the protein component is stellar ! I topped each with a sprinkle of matcha green tea powder to make these look like Incredible Hulk desserts. I do like the adaptability of this recipe and will experiment with different flavours.

Nutrition on these are a good time as well !! This recipe makes 6 1/2 cup servings.
Per 1/2 cup:
Calories 122, Fat 4 g, Carbs 2.7 g, Protein 9.8 g

Actions

Information

One response

25 04 2011
investment company

Haha I love the title.

Leave a Reply

