Snack Week: P.B. Cheesecake Cups Anyone ?

18 04 2011

A.K.A. sex in a cup

This is one of my husband’s favourite desserts. We try and have a bigger, more Sunday type dinner on Sunday night (heh) and with that, I make an effort to have dessert as well. I save my dessert for my snack later on in the night, but Ken eats his after his entree. Don’t ask me how “whipped dessert topping” got into our house as I am sort of against franken-food.

I have to warn you this whole recipe is a Kraft Kitchen wet dream… it is a total sell out. All those engineered foods in one delicious cup.

Enjoy this for what it is worth, and balance is always the key. I wouldn’t follow this up with some orange velveeta cheese or a twinkie, that is for sure. 🙂

Peanut Butter – Chocolate Protein Cheesecake
morphed from the Kraft Kitchen

* 1 brick (8 oz) Reduced Fat Cream Cheese
* 1 pouch Dream Whip Dessert Topping Mix, whipped up
* 1 box of Sugar Free-fat- Free Chocolate Pudding
* 1/4 cup PB2 – peanut flour
* 1 cup Unsweetened Almond Milk, Original (or just plain milk if you want)
* 1/2 cup of cow’s milk
* 2 level scoop Chocolate Whey Protein Powder

Assemble ingredients and get ready to use your mixer. A special shout out to my Sister in law and my brother for our fabulous KA mixer ! It was an awesome wedding gift !

Whip up the dream whip as per instructions on the box (1/2 cup of milk) and set it aside.

Start with the cream cheese and blend until creamy, add protein powder and peanut butter powder to incorporate. Do this now or these dry ingredients will clump if you add them further along. Finally, add the sf chocolate pudding mix and the milk of your choice and blend until smooth.

Detach the bowl from the mixer and add the 1 1/2 cups of the dream whip you previously made, folding it into the mixture my hand. You dont want to beat this again.

Reserve the other 1/2 cup of dream whip to use as a topper for these.
Scoop into containers and put into the fridge to chill up. I topped mine with one cacoa covered pecans so they looked all fancy.

This makes 10 snack sized cups all 1/2 cup each. If you dont have some of these cups in your house RUN OUT NOW and get some. They are the perfect size for our WLS tummys and help me maintain portion control. I use them a lot. I think I found them at Walmart.

Nuts on this are WAY better than I expected given the brick-o-cream cheese you use (pecan topper not included). I think I could totally get away with a 3rd scoop of protein powder in these because you do not get a HINT of it being in there with everything else happening.
Calories 108
Total Fat 5.14g
Total Carbohydrate 6.02g (5.5g)
Dietary Fiber 0.5g
Protein 7.1g

Next time I make these I am going to try some instant espresso powder to make it more chocolate-coffee like.

As promised, for those of you who fear the kitchen, I am posting some ready-made protein snacks. One of Ken’s favourite protein snacks is turkey or chicken pepperoni with a hunk of cheese.

They are meaty goodness, and are super low in calories and fat while packing a super punch of protein. Each stick has 50 calories, 2.5g of fat, and 6 g of protein. Couple this with a small babybel (50 calories & 6 g of protein as well) low fat cheese and you are looking at a snack that totals 100 calories, 5.5g of fat, and a huge 12 g of protein. WIN WIN !

Actions

Information

5 responses

20 04 2011
Cat

Oh yum … I really really REALLY want the recipe for the pecan topper. Oh fark me, those were goooood!

20 04 2011
geokatgirl

Done.. i had it finished yesterday but had left my photo card at home. Enjoy. If you are at the market, that is one of the better places to get nuts.. they are HUGE and oh so fresh.

20 04 2011
Cat

I’m going this week. Need me some pecans and proshoots! 🙂

20 04 2011
Cat

Oh ok so I’m making my grocery list right now (lurking your site for main ingreds) LOL and I’m looking at this recipe and then looked in my cupboard, don’t have chocolate protein but I have creamy vanilla AND I also have the cheesecake SF/FF pudding. Soooo, what can I add to give it another flavour beside chocolate? Any suggestions?

25 04 2011
investment company

I REALLY want to eat that.

Leave a Reply

