Melted Cheese = Crackers !

30 04 2011

Sorry Jess but this is not dairy free This is such a fun and easy recipe !! The results are fabulous, and I close my eyes and pretend I am eating chips !!

Cheese Humor a la Natalie Dee. I have to agree with her.. anything congealed in a can is gross, especially cheese.

Ken liked these so much that I caught him grabbing a couple of “crackers” as he went into the kitchen for a drink.

This recipe took literally 5 minutes to prepare, and each “batch” baked for minutes. Next time I make this I will spice up the Monterey Jack cheese before i “make” aka melt these crackers.

Cheese “Crackers”

1 lb of Monterey Jack cheese

Pre-heat oven to 400, line baking sheet with parchment paper. Get a ruler out.. Seriously ! and slice 1/4 inch slices of cheese from the brick.

Slice each cross section yet again and place on cookie sheet fairly far part, maybe 2 inches on all sides. Pop into oven and bake for 8 to 1o minutes until the edges get golden brown.

Ta Da !! Magic

These are nuclear when they come out of the oven, set aside to cool and harden up and blot with a papertowel if they seem to be oily on the bottom.

Store in an airtight container. I am so going to throw some chipotle spice on these for next time.
I had 0.346 kg of cheese which gave me 46 crackers. The nuts on this depend on your yield vs what you started with, but ideally you are looking at 30 calories, 3 grams fat, 0 carbs, 2 grams of protein PER cracker.
These are rich, so two per servings feels like enough to me, yet it is low in calories!!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

