A Bit of the South in a Glass

12 05 2011

This recipe reminds me of Fried Green Tomatoes and Steel Magnolias… ladies in the South fanning themselves from the heat, and eating armadillo shaped cakes..LOL
cartoon courtesy of Natalie Dee !

I have had this recipe for quite some time, and loved making it with full on sugar. In recent years, given the lack of sugar in our diets, I put the recipe away, thinking that artificial sweeteners would be horrible in this.

I have had almost 2 years out now, and with the help of other websites like AskGeorgie and All Day I Dream About Food, I have come to understand how to LAYER and CUT back sweeteners to avoid that chemical weird taste that sweeteners can cause.

SO.. I cracked out this recipe again, as the weather is just starting to warm up in Toronto and Plantation Iced Tea is the perfect drink to sip when it gets hot. I will admit that we are Crystal Light-ed out. Both Ken and I drink a lot of water, and sometimes flavour it as water can get dull and gaggy after drinking so much of it.

I am incredibly excited on how this tastes, given I know the “before” and the “after”. Ken agrees that this is AS good as it was with full sugar, which is a bit of a miracle. I feel like this is another step to having a “normal” post surgery life.

Plantation Iced Tea

4 orange pekoe tea bags
4 cups of boiling water
1/2 cup of lemon juice
1 cup of Splenda granular

4 cups of cool water
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract (I use the double strength bourbon vanilla extract … SO WORTH IT)
1 teaspoon of almond extract

Get out a nice sized stainless steel or glass bowl (no plastic please !). Add tea bags and pour 4 cups of boiling water over tea bags. Add sweetener and lemon juice and set a timer for 10 minutes.

After steeping, remove tea bags, and I shudder to say this but… SQUEEZE the tea bags (which is an incredible no-no any other time, sorry Alton Brown !). Add your almond and vanilla extract and the four extra cups of cool water. Pour it all into a juice container and let it sit on the counter for an hour to cool. I think this last instruction is more for when you use “the sugar” as they are worried about sugar coming out of the solution as you cool it (super saturated solutions a la chemistry grade 11)

HEED my words of warning. I have tried to DISCO this recipe up, used fresh mint, different extracts, each time a complete FAIL. My suggestion is try the recipe AS IS, no subs for the first go around. I hate to think that you all will make this, sub in something, and hate it.

Nuts on this are as minimal as crystal light, so I dont bother even tracking this.. lemon juice, and the 2 extracts are the only thing that have any calories in them, spread out over 2 quarts isnt enough to bat an eye at.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

