Brilliant Bacon Cheddar Biscotti

16 05 2011

Ken and I had a party to go to on Saturday and everyone was bringing a dish. Because there was going to be a mix of people who are normal eaters and those who can’t have loads of carbs and sugar, I decided on a savory biscotti but I was going split the difference and used normal all purpose flour.
Alt flours can leave a slight taste when used and I thought this combo would be strange enough without the added dimension of gluten free as well.

sassy !

These turned out WAY better than I could have ever hoped for and when I ate a biscotti bum to taste test I immediately craved a bowl of hot tomato soup so I could dunk these lovely smoky biscotti. The very best thing about this biscotti is that they dont have one stitch of sugar or sweetener.

Bacon Cheddar Biscotti

2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon dried chipotle
2 cup grated cheddar, old
4 eggs
1 lb of bacon, precooked

Preheat oven to 350, and parchment a cookie sheet. Pull out your food processor and use it to grate the cheese, and put aside. Grab your cooled bacon and throw it into the food processor and whirl it up to get smaller chunks.

Put the grated cheese and eggs in a bowl and mix.

In another bowl mix flour, baking powder, and spice. Add the dry to the wet mixture and mix until incorporated. Add the chopped bacon and work the finely chopped bacon into the dough. Split into two logs and shape and pat down.
Ready for the oven !!

Bake for 20 minutes and take the logs out and let them cool completely. The cheese makes these nuclear hot !! I leave my logs out to cool for half a day.
Once cool cut and slip into a 300 degree oven for 30 minutes.

This recipe makes 34 ish cookies plus bums
Each cookie has 128 calories, 6 g carbs, 8 g fat and 8 g protein

Actions

Information

5 responses

16 05 2011
Cat

Simply delicious!

16 05 2011
geokatgirl

they were better than I expected

16 05 2011
Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

No, the very best thing about these is the bacon. Love savory biscotti, and I never make it. Need to start! Great post.

16 05 2011
geokatgirl

The bacon is darn tasty ! I will admit to eating these and drinking coffee on Sunday morning.

17 05 2011
Jude

I love you, bacon biscotti. Never leave me.

Leave a Reply

