Rich People Salad

26 05 2011

So it is salad season once again, and I decided it had been ages since I made a real “Rich Person” salad. Look out Kitty !

I picked up a package of quail eggs at the market and had some lobster (read pollock) in the fridge and decided this would be the ultimate rich person salad !!

This recipe is based on my Salad Maurice recipe. I made the dressing the same way, and subbed in lobster (14 ounces) for chicken and 10 oz of baby spinach (a whole bag of spinach) for a head of iceburg lettuce.

Kat’s Ultimate Rich People Salad

14 oz of ham, chopped
14 oz of low fat swiss cheese, cubed (lappi is a good one for this)
1 pkg of quail eggs, hard boiled (18 per carton)
2 packages of lobster flavoured pollock (~12 oz)
1 bag of baby spinach (10 oz)
2 strub’s dill pickles

Dressing
2 teas. white vinegar
1-1/2 teas. freshly squeezed lemon juice
1-1/2 teas. onion juice (i just grate an onion until you get a pulp)
1-1/2 teas. sugar
1-1/2 teas. Dijon mustard
1/4 teas. dry mustard
1 cup of low fat mayonnaise (homemade or store-bought) (i use half mayo/half greek yogurt to cut the fat)

Get out a big ole bowl (I usually split this recipe in half as it makes WHACK load, but for some reason, my senses left me and I made a huge batch)
Get the quail eggs in boiling water and let them hard boil for 20 minutes, and then cool.
Look how pretty they look !

After cooling, peel them under cold water. The shells are much thinner than chicken eggs, so they were a bit more challenging to peel.

Chop chop chop everything up. Wait to add the eggs until the end, post dressing.

In another bowl mix up dressing and pour onto chopped up proteins and spinach, mix to coat. Half the quail eggs and lay them on top of the salad to make the salad look oh so pretty. This is a salad even Paris Hilton would eat !!

I get a yield of 16 to 18 servings for this recipe (so 8 to 9 cups) depending on how much I pack into the 1/2 cup scoop and how wilty my spinach gets. Nuts on this are 179 calories, 8g carbs, 9g fat, 17g protein per 1/2ish cup.

Actions

Information

5 responses

26 05 2011
princesayasmine

That’s what I call posh nosh! 🙂

27 05 2011
Sonya

Quail eggs are so adorable.

Where’d you get them? Market, I assume. I wanted some to make baby eggs on toast for a brunch idea.

27 05 2011
geokatgirl

I got these at the market.. next to the edible flowers..i want to use those flowers on a sf cupcake !!

But I have also seen them at the Asian markets, which is a non-starter for you. Those little eggs were so good ! I think I want to get them again, hardboiled them and pickle them with some beet juice, so they look PINK ~

30 05 2011
Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Oh wow, with a name like that it better be good and boy is it. Those eggs look wonderful.

30 05 2011
geokatgirl

thanks Rufus… it is a fun salad !

Leave a Reply

