Lemon Protein Cake Balls.. Move Over Bakerella !

2 06 2011

So I have written about this Lemon “Liar” protein cake before from AskGeorgie and thought given the protein component of this cake, and the moisture, that I would ATTEMPT to redeem my first fiasco and try making cake balls again.

This is definitely a “treat” recipe when in cake ball form. The protein is okay, the nuts overall not bad, but this is definitely a dessert and not something you want to have hanging around your house every day.

My husband Ken found the naked balls (without the chocolate coating) in the fridge chilling and popped four of them into his mouth. It was like a professional hit. This is my warning as these are SUPER DUPER delicious and would be perfect to bring to a gathering, but a little dangerous when they are screaming your name from the storage container in the fridge.

SO my adaptation to AskGeorgie’s recipe has been blogged previously, but I will repost here. My tweaks are in bold.

Lemon Poppyseed Cake
adapted from AskGeorgie.com

• Cooking oil spray
• 1 1/3 cups white whole wheat flour (or gluten free flour)
**I used 1 cup whole wheat, and 1/3 cup of coconut flour
• 2 scoops vanilla whey protein powder
• 1 cup Splenda granulated or 2/3 cup sugar
** tweak, 1/3 cup of Splenda & 1 pkg of sf lemon jello
• 2 tablespoons poppy seeds **I omitted these for the cake pops
• 2 teaspoons baking powder
• ½ teaspoon baking soda
• ½ teaspoon salt
• 2 teaspoons lemon zest
• 1½ cups nonfat plain Greek yogurt
• ¾ cup unsweetened applesauce
• 1 tablespoon canola or macadamia nut oil
• 2 ½ teaspoons lemon extract
• 2 eggs

Preheat oven to 325, pre-coat 9 x 13 pan with non-stick, whirl the above ingredients together, pour into pan and bake for 20 – 25 minutes, just until the edges start to brown.

Lemon “Liar” Cake minus the poppyseeds ready for baking.

Baked and cooling before it gets mangled.

SO the second half of the recipe is:
1/4 cup of lower fat cream cheese
1/2 cup if sugar free vanilla frosting
(as seen here) This stuff is total franken-food and has malitol (aka fart-tastic).

Lemon ‘Liar” cake is a pretty moist cake, so once I started to whirl it with my dough hook in the mixer, it started to cling together. This bodes well as it makes keeps the low fat cream cheese and frosting to a minimium to create a truffle like texture. Whirl the cake until you get everything a uniform grain size and add both the cream cheese and frosting and whirl until everything is incorporated.

Roll the cake balls out and put them in the fridge to firm up. I did this overnight and I was down 4 the next day. The next day I headed to Whole Foods to get some lemon and orange infused sf white chocolate. It’s Italian stuff that says “senza zucchero”..woo hoo !
I melted the chocolate bars (three largish ones) in a double boiler and dipped my cake balls in. I managed to just have enough to coat all 36 cake balls (40 if someone hadn’t snacked)
Oh ugly cake ball, I’m so confused! I love your personality but you’re so wretchedly ugly!

TASTES delicious !! I sprinkled them with a bit of crystal light grape to dust them with fruitiness !
Nuts on these are for two balls each:
176 calories
17 grams carbs (14 grams net)
9 grams fat
8 grams protein
3 grams sugar

Actions

Information

One response

2 06 2011
Cat

Oh hells yeah! These are SO delish that I’d have to make them, have a few and then give the rest away. They are just too good for words. They weren’t ugly but for your standards, maybe. LOL

Leave a Reply

