Meat Week – Rosemary Lamb-sicles

14 06 2011

This was a recipe from the Canadian Living for Father’s Day.. because Father’s must love lamb and generally, meat on sticks.

I am not a huge fan of the lamb but there are a lot of different flavours happening in this that I thought I would give it a try. It is important to expand your meat horizons ! Ken loves lamb and I love Ken..

Incidently, we finally got our wedding photos back.. hurray ~ 6 weeks before I our first wedding anniversary.

Ground Lamb on Rosemary
From Canadian Living, June 2011

4 branches of fresh rosemary
1 tbsp coriander seeds (I used ground coriander)
2 tsp cumin seeds
1/4 cup pine nuts
1/2 cup chopped fresh mint (I omitted this because Ken hates mint)
2 tsp lemon zest
4 tsp lemon juice from above lemon
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 egg, beaten
1 lb ground lamb

Get rosemary sticks out and soak them in a bowl of cold water for 30 minutes. This is to prevent the whole thing from catching fire on the grill. I had less issue given I was going to broil these dans la oven.
Soaking the sticks

Toast pine nuts, coriander and cumin seeds and crush slightly.
Throw everything into the bowl with the ground lamb and squish it around with your hands until thoroughly mixed.

Divide into 8 portions, and shape oval logs around the rosemary sticks, two per sticks.
Refrigerate for 30 minutes so everything firms up around the rosemary sticks. I really didn’t have much luck with them sticking so I sorta squished the balls around the rosemary in a tinfoiled pan, like a thin meatloaf.

I lined my pan with tinfoil because I wanted easy clean up. Broil for 15 to 20 minutes, watching them and flipping halfway through cooking. **i didn’t do this part as it would mangle to sticks more, and thought it was best to leave well enough alone.

Fat on these arent fabulous and we didnt love them. Not gonna lie to you all.
168 calories
2 g carbs
14 g fat
9 g protein
1 g fibre

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

