Black Bean Chocolate Cake: A Lesson in Cottage Preparedness

29 06 2011

SO… Canada Day is almost upon us and it is really the start of summer for us. Usually we have some hot weather by now, but the weather in Toronto has been a bit manic, and way too chilly for my liking.
Courtesy of Natalie Dee !

Ken and I have cracked out the white crate, which allows us to dump all the things we need to bring to the cottage.. Our NEEDS list is extensive, almost to the point of being high maintenance.

Coffee, and all things related to coffee are packed, even the Burr grinder, and the right sized coffee mugs (total princesses). Also, the biscotti for said coffee. Gotta have some dunking and on the weekend, biscotti are my treats. I have made three kinds of biscotti for this weekend, a coconut bliss biscotti (that I made for Sonya’s birthday and they turned out so well), a so-low-it-is-almost-no-carb almond meal biscotti (with 2 net carbs per cookie) and an elvis chocolate biscotti with bacon and peanut flour.

EXCITING !! Multiple biscotti cooling on the dining room table

What is even MORE exciting is this recipe for black bean chocolate cake. I was VERY skeptical about this given the large amount of eggs in the batter. I figured this would be an eggy chocolate mess. CAN I just say that this cake is mind blowingly delicious. I am dead serious ! This is sugar free, gluten free, low carb and lacks dairy, yet it is good ! Who knew this was possible.
Phase two of this recipe is the making of cake balls with it… but I will post phase two tomorrow. Last night I baked up the cake, eyed it as it cooled and Ken gave one of the pieces a test drive.

Fantastic Black Bean Chocolate Cake

1 can of black beans, drained (I used 540ml Unico brand, drained)
5 large eggs
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
6 tablespoons butter or coconut oil (for the non dairy people)
3/4 cup of erythritol plus 1/2 teaspoon pure stevia extract (& 1 cup of sugar for those who can use it)
6 tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder (the best you can afford)
1 teaspoon of baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda

Preheat oven 325 degrees and prep with spray a 8 x 8 pan, or a round cake pan.
Pop open the black beans, drain and rinse to get the salt off of them. Grab your food processor or blender, pop in the black beans, 3 eggs, and the tablespoon of vanilla extract. Blend until the mixture has no lumps or visible signs of bean! Set aside.

In another bowl cream butter, add sweeteners and cream until butter-coconut oil is fluffy. Add two remaining eggs, and blend for one more minute, Pour bean batter into egg batter and mix until smooth.

In the third bowl you have mixed together the soda, baking powder, and cocoa powder. Stir this mixture into the egg-black bean mixture, add the tablespoon of water, and blend on high for a couple of minutes to create some air.

Pour the whole mess into the pan, and pop into the oven for 40 -45 minutes. Keep checking as you want to middle to set.

I divided this into 12 squares (but can easily bumped up to 10 or 9 depending on the container you used to bake it, and what you are doing with this cake) As I said before I plan on making cake balls with it.. it is UBER moist, so there will be little need to add much of the sf pre-made icing to make this into a truffle like texture.
Here it is fresh out of the oven :

For now, if you ate this as is (which Ken did and said it was delicious) for 12 piece yield:
Flipped out of the pan.. easy peasy ! Note the corner fell off into my mouth.. heh !

135 calories, 11 grams of carbs (8 grams NET carbs), 8 grams of fat, and 6 grams of protein.

This cake is SO moist you dont need icing BUT I do envision it with a peanut butter cream cheese topper. It would be a NICE time.
I will certainly update you on my cake pop adventure and re-post all the nuts for cake pops, with yield (minus one square of cake for Ken’s snack)

Happy Canada Day everyone !

Actions

Information

6 responses

29 06 2011
Casey

Mmm I’ve heard so many great things about beans in cake! Must try it soon!! thanks for the recipe 😀

29 06 2011
geokatgirl

Thanks Casey… for me, I have a hard time with carbs and sugar, so this seems so right for my diet. My husband who is more non discriminate gave this a thumbs up.. so that bodes well.

6 07 2011
Black Bean Cakeball Madness – Part 2 « Antics of a Museum Girl

[…] Bean Cakeball Madness – Part 2 6 07 2011 So my friend Cat made this recipe last night and asked me about the 15 oz can of black beans, and I realized I never really checked […]

8 07 2011
Sara

“3/4 cup of erythritol plus 1/2 teaspoon pure stevia extract (& 1 cup of sugar for those who can use it)”

Is that “&” 1 cup sugar? Or should it be “or” 1 cup sugar?

Looks great!

8 07 2011
geokatgirl

Hi Sara !!

Thanks for the comment !! Yes.. so it is an either OR deal.. those who can’t eat sugar use the stevia-erythritol combo and those who can eat sugar MAY sub in 1 cup of sugar in lieu of the sweeteners !

Enjoy.. I am making this again on the weekend !

8 07 2011
Sara

Thank you! I want to try it, too. Sounds perfect to have for afternoon snacking.

Leave a Reply

