Peach Pepita Paleo Cookies

17 07 2011

Say that 3 times fast !
courtesy of Natalie Dee

This post is directed to my good friend Jess, who has been paleo-ing for over a month now. WAY TO GO Jess. Jess has has some food allergies and she has noticed all these fabulous benefits when she backed off the dairy and grains. I find it really interesting to hear her feedback because of my stuff.

I always attributed a lot of the my new found health to my weight loss. I am seeing through her journey that maybe a lot of the health that I now experiencing is not from the weight but from what I am eating. I rarely take a Reactine and I was a twice a day user for years. You only need to click on my podcast on this website to hear the difference in my voice.. all nasal and stuffed up. I sleep better, have less sick days, more alert, no asthma, stronger nails, better hair and cleaner feeling teeth.

A big shout out to At The Baker’s Bench as this recipe is from her blog. She is blogtastic.. check her out here !

Peach Pepita Paleo Cookies
courtesy of At the Baker’s Bench
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons of almond meal
2 egg whites
2 tablespoons of honey (i used sugar free honey or could use SF maple syrup)
1 teaspoon orange zest
2 tablespoons pepitas
1/4 cup of dried peaches (found them at Domino at St Lawrence or you can sub in dried apricot)
1/2 tsp ground cardamon (i added this in, Baker’s bench uses cinnamon and ginger)

Gather ingredients and admire how pretty the dehydrated peaches are.. I ate one on it’s own to test for quality.

Preheat to 350 and prep baking sheet with parchment paper, you all know the drill. This recipe is for the baking challenged, as it is DEAD easy.

Mix all the ingredients in a bowl and scoop 1 tablespoons amounts onto parchment paper. Flatten with a fork and bake for 10 -12 minutes.

Out of the oven and slightly nuclear but am holding one anyway. I am a kitchen superhero.

Ken, our lovely disinterested hand model, showing the cookie to the camera before popping it into his mouth and asking what the cookie was because it was delicious.

This makes 22 cookies, that need to be stored in the fridge for a week or so. I am sure they would freeze nicely as well.
Nuts on these are as follows for two cookies each:
96 calories, 8 g carbs (NET carbs is 6 g), 6 g of fat, 4 g of protein

Actions

Information

6 responses

3 08 2011
jess

Kat I have made these 3 or 4 since you posted this recipe. Using different fruits, nuts and chocolate chips! I had been buying my almond meal from no frills which was kept on a shelf, today i picked some up from my health food store and it was kept refrigerated. What do you suggest?

4 08 2011
kat

Hey Jess ! I talked with the Whole Foods guy and it is suppose to be refrigerated, so I keep mine in the fridge at home.
I would check the expiration dates on the almond meal, but it should be fine. The refrigeration just keeps the meal fresh and the oils in them can ‘turn’. I also use defatted peanut flour, which is sold in vaccum packages, and it is recommended to toss the unused portion in the freezer so it keeps longer. I know Bob’s Mill stuff is $10 a pkg at my Loblaws and WF sells it for $16 (453 grams). Bulk may be the better way and less packaging. I think Bulkbarn is now carrying it AND i saw egg white powder at Bulkbarn, a primal protein staple !

5 08 2011
jess

I know some people use ewpp (egg white protein powder) readily, some of the primal/paleo folk are a bit less enthused.

I had heard someone from mark’s daily apple post this, “Please be aware that dried/powdered eggs (and powdered milk) are very processed foods that have been treated under very high heat which oxidizes the cholesterol. Oxidized cholesterol is extremely damaging to the arteries and organs (unlike healthy cholesterol). This is why, among other reasons, skim milk is such a problem- dried milk powder is added in to bulk it up. Liquid eggs are the same. Processed food contains a lot of these dried food ingredients and thus oxidized cholesterol” which makes sense. But for the amount of time I’m going to use it, I think it would be fine for me. I would be interested in trying it, because I really dislike the taste of all protein powders these days (hemp and brown rice-choc, vanilla, and reg).

5 08 2011
jess

Ps-made a batch of coconut, blueberry, peach, sunflower/pumpkin seed, dark chocolate cookies. Its the everything cookie and I love it!

1 01 2012
Operation Primal Commences & Primal Brownies « Antics of a Museum Girl

[…] based desserts, cherry ripe bars, chocolate avocado pudding pops, post-workout creamscicles, and peach pepita cookies. I have also gone back and re-tagged older recipes that could be primal or added adjustments to […]

6 01 2012
Brilliance.. « Antics of a Museum Girl

[…] I haven’t added anything new to the rotation, but I did make some primal peach pepitas cookies, for snacking, which are quite yummy, and some matcha green tea almond milk jello. I really really […]

Leave a Reply

