Stuffed Week : Meat Stuffed Round Zucchini

18 07 2011

So as part of “stuffed” week, I was going to be boring and do stuffed peppers because there is a plethora of peppers right but then saw these round vehicles for meat and thought BRILLIANT !

I love round zucchinis, they are yummy and I love the texture of them when you bake them. I had a whooping two pounds of sausages that I divided into these lovely round zucchinis and Jude’s chickpea thingy. It was a two-for-one cooking day. Gotta love that !

Stuffed Round Zucchini
1 lb of sausage, remove casings
1 onion, chopped
1 clove of garlic
1 red shepherd’s pepper
1/2 dried chorizo
5 to 6 round zucchinis

Prep casserole dish with some non-stick spray and grab a skillet and heat with some olive oil. Saute the onions, garlic, peppers and the innards of the zucchini. Once they have browned, add the meat and cook completely, pouring off any excess fat from the browned sausage meat.
To scrape out the zucchinis, cut the tops of the zucchini off.

You then take your knife and cut a cone into the top of the zucchini, and use a small spoon to scoop out the insides. I put the innards in with the saute-ing veggies.

YUM chorizo surprise at the bottom!

Add the completely cooked meat to each zucchini and you can bake for 30 minutes at 350 degrees OR pop them into the fridge and bake them up the next night (which is what I did).
Baked and ready to eat

I sprinkled some Beemster cheese on these and a dab of sour cream and served. These were delicious, a bit tricky to eat, but they held together well.
Sour cream topper !

Hard to do nuts on these because of the varying sizes.. so I standardized to about a cup of zucchini (it’s probably less) and the big one I counted as two. As well, I used chicken sausage, so your nuts will differ if you use pork or beef. As well, these are primal until you add the dairy to them.. so if you are eating primal, dont add the cheese-sour cream.
I managed to get a number of 225 calories for two small zucchini, 11 carbs (8 carbs NET), 13 g fat (less because you drain the sausage), 18 g protein and 6 g sugars.

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 07 2011
Tina

I have never, ever seen round zucchinis before! How cute! when I was a kid, my mother used to stuff the giagantic overgrown regular zukes from our garden with some kind of breadcrumb and cheese mixture. I wouldn’t even attempt to eat that nowadays. This would be a nice change-up.

18 07 2011
geokatgirl

They are just something a bit different and are totally fun. I think these are a new-ish vegetable .. sorta a franken-food. We love them and visually they are a nice looking meal. We are total low carb people so meat and some veg are primary, but these would be super fun with some rice or breadcrumbs-cheese mixture as well. The possibilities are endless !

Leave a Reply

