Gluten Free Mini Muffins & Gross Protein

28 07 2011

So I did it with the best of intentions, but I bought what I thought would be a healthier whey protein for us, one sweetened with Stevia. It turns out it tastes like ass ! I don’t mind it as much as Ken, who refuses to have it in his coffee and protein shakes.

What do I do with 5 lbs of stevia sweetened protein powder ? I shove it in as many “baked” goods as possible and feed it to my husband, that is what !
courtesy of the fabulous Natalie Dee

This all came together when I was on All Day I Dream About Food blog site and found a recipe for Double Chocolate Power Muffins. Power muffins says “sneak protein in and he’ll never know”.
BINGO!

I would also like to comment that these muffins are f-ing fabulous ! Large shoutout to All Day I Dream About Food blogger Carolyn who continually cranks out the quality gluten free stuff. I will say gluten isnt great for us, especially with my franken-tummy and Ken’s diabetes. Frankly, I don’t think it is good for anyone; call me an idiot but if it fattens up cattle faster why wouldn’t it be doing the same thing to us ?

Double Chocolate Power Muffins

courtesy of All Day I Dream About Food

1 cup soy flour
3/4 cup almond flour
2/3 cup whey protein powder * Heh, i used chocolate
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1/4 cup flax seed meal
1/4 cup granulated erythritol
2 tsp instant coffee granules
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter, melted and cooled
1/2 cup almond milk
3 eggs, lightly beaten
10 drops stevia extract (optional, for increased sweetness if you like)
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (or sugar-free, if you want to lower the carbs)
** I added 1/2 cup of walnuts hoping to hide some of the protein powder flavours

Preheat oven to 350F and I sprayed a mini muffin pan with PAM.
In a large bowl, whisk together soy flour, almond meal, protein powder, cocoa powder, flax, erythritol, coffee, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
Mixing… cha-cha-cha

In a smaller bowl, whisk together butter, almond milk, eggs and stevia. Add wet ingredients to dry and stir until thoroughly combined. Stir in chocolate chips.
Bake for 10 – 14 minutes, watching them because those mini-muffins bake faster than larger muffins.

Tada MINI-LICIOUS and hopefully none the wiser. HEH

I made them into MINI muffins, because I thought if they looked cute then he would not suspect the evil protein lurking within.
This recipe made 52 mini-muffins with:
52 calories, 2g carbs (1g Carb NET), 4g fat, 3g protein, 1g sugar

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

