Nutella Inspired Primal Cookies

5 08 2011

So… while nutella would be off the list of primal-paleo foods, these memories of nutella cookies are a little bit-o-fun. I also came across hazelnut flour-meal at the market and grabbed it knowing it would be perfect for this recipe. If you can’t find said hazelnut flour, grab some hazelnuts and your food processor and whiz some up. It isn’t a huge time investment to make your own and I think the taste is better.
The Many uses of Nutella post WLS – hauntingly weird

I still need to tweak this recipe as it isnt as sweet as it could be, I think I may add a couple of drops of stevia to these next time to up the sweetness, especially with the ultra dark chocolate.

I have to say this little recipe, first tested with the Peach Pepitas Paleo Cookies, is a great kitchen sink when you need a treat, but dont have a lot happening in the pantry.

Nutella Inspire Primal Cookies
adapted from The Bakers Bench

1 cup of ground hazelnuts
2 tbsp of cocoa (the best you can afford)
2 tbsp of raw honey (* i used sf maple syrup)
2 egg whites
1 tea of almond extract
2 tbsp of pine nuts (leftover from pesto making)
1/4 cup of chopped dried cherries
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp instant espresso

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, and parchment paper a baking sheet. Grab a large bowl as this is a one stop bowl recipe.
Hazelnut meal is in the bowl

All ingredients ready to go

I use a cookie scoop so I get 22 same sized scoops, which I mash down with a fork and bake for 10 -12 minutes.

Out of the oven, let them cool, and they will firm up.

For Nuts I am using the peach-pepitas one in my Fitness pal.. The ingredients dont vary enough for me to worry about it.
Nuts on these are as follows for two cookies each:
96 calories, 8 g carbs (NET carbs is 6 g), 6 g of fat, 4 g of protein

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

