A Quick Post about Pork

26 08 2011

This is a quick post about a slow cooked pork stew called Carne Adovada, which means pork in Mexican red chile paste.
Monkey riding backwards on a pig.. dont lie, it made you look, didnt it?

I bought a whack of dried Californian chiles when I was Arizona and they have been hanging out in my cupboard. I am not going to lie, there were getting in my way. I wanted to USE them.

So at the market last week we were chatting up the Ontario Pork Producers aka the pushers of magical meat and he sold me a nice unsmoked, uncured ham. It was leaner than a pork shoulder, which I liked, but it did have some fat so it didnt get dry over a long slow cook.

Carne Adovada
from TLC

8 to 10 dried red New Mexico or California chilies
2 cups water
1/3 cup finely chopped onion
1 clove garlic, minced
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1-1/2 pounds lean boneless pork butt (i used uncured, unsmoked ham)

Wash chilies; remove stems and seeds. MESSY, and dont think to rub your face or touch your husband during this part.. MISTAKE

Place in 3-quart pan with water. Cover and simmer 20 minutes or until chilies are very soft. Pour chilies and liquid into blender or food processor container fitted with metal blade; process until puréed.
HELLO Mr Immersion Blender, you are a gift from the Gods

Push purée through wire strainer; discard pulp. Add onion, garlic, oregano, salt and cumin to chili mixture.

Cut meat into 1/2-inch slices, then cut into strips about 1 inch wide and 3 inches long.
Place meat in heavy self-sealing plastic bag. Pour chili mixture over meat; seal bag. Refrigerate 1 to 2 days.
It’s like slipping Hans Solo into Carbonite.. have fun my friend and sleep well.

2 days later grab a Le Creuset and heat some oil. I chopped one large onion and one large green pepper and saute them until they started to wilt a bit. I then poured the pork-i-ness with all the sauce onto this mixture, popped on the lid and ignored it for 3 hours or so. I finished it a scoop of almond flour to thicken up the stew and served. We had some sharp Beemster kicking around the house that I grated over the top. YUM

Nuts on this are outstandinf, 169 calories, 0 net carbs, 6g of fat, 24g of protein and 1g of sugar.

OLE! everyone and have a good weekend! I plan on cooking up a storm this weekend so look out next week, I will be a blogging machine!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

