Meat Cupcakes… the new super food

30 08 2011

I love cupcakes, I loved making cupcakes, I loved decorating them, and I especially loved eating them.

I LOVE CUPCAKES

Cannibal Cupcake courtesy of Natalie Dee

but my new digestive system (post RNY) does not. I got the idea of making meat cupcakes when I opened my potato drawer and saw a slightly sad sweet potato that needed to be used STAT. I cut off the ends and popped it into a pot to boil. I was making meatballs for the week, and the idea of the meat cupcake was born.

Meat Cupcakes
by moi

Cake
12 ounces of extra lean ground beef (or turkey if you prefer)
1 egg
seasonings of choice
dehydrated onions
chopped cilantro
chipolte pepper

Icing
1 sweet potato
chicken Bovril (the liquid stuff)
added fat (i used some yummy bacon fat)
a dash of coconut milk

Heat oven to 350 degrees and grab a 6xcupcake pan. These are the regular sized cupcakes, not the muffin tops or the mini sized. You can totally use both, but will have to re-calculate the nuts at the end.

I squished the meat together, with seasonings until uniform and mixed. As I said I was making meatballs, so I sectioned off 3/4 of a pound of ground meat to make these, and the rest I made meatballs with.
Spray muffin tin with PAM, so these pop out for you post baking.
Squish the meat into each muffin holder, making the meat even with the top.
These will certainly shrink in the oven. I weighted them post baking and each were 2 ounces of meat.

Bake for 25 minutes and check for done-ness. Set aside to cool.

In my Kitchen Aide mixer with the whipping attachment, throw in your cubes of sweet potatoe, a splash of coconut milk, a tablespoon of added fat, and a huge squirt of chicken Bovril, and flick the switch. You want this to be creamy looking. I threw in some garlic powder because well, that is how I roll.
If the mixture looks too dry, add a bit more liquid or fat. Taste testing is a must.
Once everything looks smmooth in the blender, scoop out the entire thing into a ziploc bag, squishing all the potato to one end, cut a nice big hole in the end and “pipe” the potato on the cooled meatcake.

Carefully, using a spoon, scoop out the beautiful meaty cupcake and set aside. I sprinkled some paprika on them, and threw them into the oven for 15 minutes to re-heat for dinner.

Bring on the meat sweats!! Ken’s reaction was one of “OMG it’s ridiculous! *tastes sweet potato* OMG it’s delicious AND it has potato”
Nuts on these are for one meat-cake.
141 calories, 13g NET carb, 3g fat, 14g protein, 5 g sugar

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

