Fall Arrives & Buffalo Chicken-licious

18 09 2011

Hello all… I realize I have been away! We were in the north at the cottage, with a wavering cell-internet signal and I have to say I liked it!

Just because I haven’t been posting doesn’t mean I haven’t been cooking! Back from the cottage the temperature in Toronto instantly turned “fall-ish”. It’s like someone turned off the heat. As soon as the temperature drops all I want is homey, slow cooky foods and looking back through my blog, I was excited to make some of my “old friends”. I am proud that I have over 200 recipes on this blog! This past week I made a couple of tried and true recipes: Thai shrimp soup with butternut squash and lemongrass, frittatta, frijoles charros (which I realized I didn’t post… such a great recipe.. I promise to post the next time I make it!)

So today’s recipe can be a snack or a meal. I loved chicken wings, but I didn’t like being fat, So I have had to sub in my love of chicken wings with alternatives. This is a great recipe for a dinner or for taking to someone’s house for a party. They FEEL bad but they have good protein numbers and are pretty darn easy to make. I also think they are better cold so they are magical as leftovers.

Baked Buffalo Chicken Bites w/ Blue Cheese dip

from Back to Her Roots (thank YOU…love this recipe)

Makes 12 dinner-sized bites or 30 appetizer-sized

For the Blue Cheese Yogurt Dip

1 cup 2% Greek yogurt
2 tablespoons finely-chopped cilantro
1/2 cup crumbled blue cheese
1/4 cup finely-diced red onion
Salt and pepper

For the Buffalo Chicken Bites

3 cups shredded or finely-chopped cooked chicken
1/4-3/4 cup buffalo wing sauce
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1 bunch green onions, white and pale green parts chopped
4 ounces cream cheese, softened
1 cup panko breadcrumbs
Salt and pepper
Cooking spray

Directions:

Mix all the dip ingredients together well. Stash in the fridge while you prepare the chicken.
Preheat oven to 350°. Assemble ingredients.

In a large bowl, combine chicken, wing sauce, cheese, green onions, and cream cheese until well combined. Really get in there and squish it round with your hands. Squish all the ingredients together and 1/4 cup of the wing sauce. Slowly add more until the mixture sticks together to form balls. My first go with this recipe I added all the sauce upfront and it was too hard to roll balls… I ended up with Buffalo Chicken pancakes.

Mix panko and a pinch of salt and pepper in a shallow dish. Form chicken mixture into 2-1/2″ balls (for dinner-sized) or 1-1/2″ balls (for appetizer-sized). Roll the chicken balls in the panko and place in a greased cookie sheet.

Before cooking, spray the tops of the balls with cooking spray. Bake for 20-30 minutes, or until tops of bites are brown and crunchy.

Out of the oven and ready for consumption. Wait a couple of minutes for them to firm up as they are nuclear hot right out of the oven.

Nuts on these are not bad. I used my 2 tbsp coffee scoop to measure out my balls and this recipe made 30 balls with each serving for WLS is 3 balls. I served it with a dollop of blue cheese dip and celery. These nuts don’t include the blue cheese dressing.
Nuts: 145 calories, 2g carbs (1g NET carbs), 8g fat, 15g protein, 1g sugar
Blue cheese dressing from my previous recipes (i didnt use the one above) adds 36 calories, 2g fat, 2g protein per tablespoon

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 09 2011
lynn

well hello! I must try these. The kids will go gaga for them!

21 09 2011
kat

These are really yummy and feel like a treat. I think these will be my potluck go-tos for the xmas season as they are tasty but also fit within our plan. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

