OCCUPY My House, Knitting & SF Bakerella

17 11 2011

I have been in knitting hibernation for the last couple of weeks. I am still here, and still using the 265esque recipes in this blog. I admit I am not as “hungry” as I once was for the new and exotic. I think because my weight is stable, I have a relatively normal life, I make delicious things, and I feel like I have a solid food rotation, things are good. I DO occasionally get the itch to lose more weight, but slowly talk myself out of it. This is my healthy weight and any further down the rabbit hole could lead to trouble.

I haven’t picked up my knitting needles since the summer. I was feeling lack luster towards my knitting projects and found cooking and baking much more fun. I think the pendulum is swinging the other way and I am fully engaged in knitting 24-7. Since Halloween I have finished a skull hat, a pink and black baby sweater, a Pokemon baby blanket and now a scarf for a Xmas gift. This scarf will be the death of me. I am cramming in rows in every moment of my day…”I have 10 minutes before a meeting, I could knock off two rows”.. ridiculous.
I feel this scarf isn’t knitting up fast enough.

I am also SF Bakerella as I baked for a friend’s birthday bash. I got to stretch my baking muscles, made seven desserts and man did I ever deliver my A game. This chick still can deliver the goods. I knocked it out of the park. Enjoy the splendor of appetizer sized desserts.

My friend Cat has a birthday on Friday and tasted some of the birthday treats, loved the lemon bars (back corner, behind the Elvis cupcakes) I made SO much she is going to make them for her birthday dessert at her family dinner. SO I took 30 minutes out from being a knitting machine to write up the recipe for her.

Early out I sort of clued into cheesecake being WLS friendly as it being more about the cream cheese than the sugar. In my previous life I use to have a very unhealthy fixation on lemon squares. What could be better than a marriage of these two delicious things??

Kat’s Lemon Cheesecake Nut Bars
loosely based on a Kraft Philly recipe

1/2 cup of butter, softened
1/4 cup of splenda
1/4 cup of brown sugar splenda
1 cup all purpose flour
1 cup of pecans, processed in a processor to a flour
2 tsp vanilla extract

1 pkg full fat cream cheese (do not skimp to the lower fat one here or you’ll have runny bars)
1 cup of Splenda
3 eggs
1/2 cup of lemon juice, freshly squeezed if possible
zest from one lemon (~ 1 tbsp)
1/4 cup of all purpose flour
1 sprig of fresh rosemary
About 20 minutes before you decide to make this recipe, pull out the butter and cream cheese from the fridge and let it sit on the counter. Minimizes your arm work out if you think ahead.
Preheat la oven to 350 degrees and PAM up a 8 x 8 pan. I love this recipe because I am a super lazy baker and I reuse the mixing bowl for the bottom and top of this recipe 🙂

In a bowl, mix the softened butter and the sweeteners until you have a paste. Add both the pecan flour and the all purpose flour and combine. Add the vanilla and mix in. You want a wet sand consistency, so if this is still a bit too wet, have a bit of all purpose flour on hand and add a bit at a time until you achieve wet sand consistency. Empty all of this into your pre-PAMmed pan and press down until firm. Pop into the over for 15 minutes, but watch it as splenda can tend to crisp up faster than sugar.

As your super yummy crust is baking, grab the same bowl (heh) cream the cream cheese until soft and smooth. Add the splenda and combine. Add eggs and incorporate. I always seem to get cheese chunks and egg not playing well together and my mixture looks lumpy. This never seems to matter in the end, so don’t fret. Add your lemon zest and lemon juice and blend, finally adding your flour to thicken everything up. Set aside and peek at your crust. If the edges are just starting to brown, pull it out, pour the lemon mixture onto the hot crust and pop it back into the oven for 25 to 30 minutes. You want the middle not to jiggle.

Let this cool.. amateur mistake to taste warm as the lemon filling is nuclear. I cut these into 16 pieces.. which doesn’t seem big for a 8×8 pan, but is plenty as these suckers are rich. I top each square with fresh rosemary as lemon and rosemary are lovers and always go together.

I haven’t bothered to do the nuts on these… as I know these are a treat, and well, I don’t want to know. Sometimes it is nice to be naive and enjoy something.
Enjoy and happy birthday Cat!

Actions

Information

5 responses

17 11 2011
Karen A.

I’m also in a creative mode whether it’s baking in the kitchen or crocheting. (I wish I could knit and I’m almost tempted to give it a try again, although I could never get the tension right.)

Have you discovered Herrschners.ca? Great yarn deals there and the shipping is so speedy!

17 11 2011
geokatgirl

I haven’t!! I am going to check them out. I usually trek over to Romni on my lunch hour. It is the largest yarn store in the city.. and frankly overwhelming if you don’t have a specific project in mind.
Check it out

Tension issues could be about the needles you were using as some needles are too fast for beginners, and others too slow so you feel like you are wrestling with the yarn. As well, cotton isn’t friendly for beginners.. not enough give so you are constantly feeling like you tugging too hard on the yarn.

17 11 2011
catcap13

Happy Happy Joy Joy!!!!

Thanks Kat!! xoxoxo

17 11 2011
geokatgirl

No problem! It is a good recipe and pretty easy to make!!

17 11 2011
Julia Nelson

Yum! These look great!

Leave a Reply

