To Oatmeal or Not to Oatmeal…aka Wake and Bake

22 11 2011

I sit on the fence with oatmeal, and while I get it is good for us, I still shy away from any big grains in the morning. I think breakfast is the carb addicts best friend with the vast majority of the morning choices based on grains. While not all grains are bad, unless you are on a primal diet which means ALL GRAINS ARE BAD, I still feel slightly fearful of introducing my day to a carb right off the bat.
Natalie is pro-oatmeal, courtesy of Natalie Dee

If you want to find out more about the grain debate check out Mark Daily Apple to understand why grains aren’t so great for us.
It is with mixed feelings that I post this recipe. I made it to try out crock pot overnight oatmeal, and will have it on occasion, but leave it mostly for Ken. He was pretty darn excited to be eating this this morning, and had no idea I mixed a scoop of protein powder into it to even out the GI load to his system.

I will make this again, but be mindful that it isnt an everyday thing for me. I am still incredibly careful with my carbs and average about 60 grams per day, which is pretty darn low. Factoring in a breakfast with a whooping 20 grams in one shot is a big deal for me.

Overnight Crock Pot Almond Oatmeal

1/2 cup (or two single serving containers) of unsweetened apple sauce
2 cups of vanilla flavoured unsweetened almond milk (you can sub in any milk of choice, but adjust caloric totals for the sub)
1 1/2 cups water
2 tablespoons of sweetener (I used coconut sap, but a Splenda brown sugar would be fabu or just sugar for those who can consume it)
1 1/2 tablespoons butter or marg (i used becel, cut into little chunks)
1/2 tea almond extract
1 tbsp ground flax (fiberific)
1 1/2 cup of uncooked steel-cut or whole rolled oats (not instant oats!)
1 tea cinnamon

Assemble ingredients. I added some raisins to this recipe, but dont really recommend it as it made it too carby.

Spray crock pot with non-stick spray. Add all ingredients and give it a stir, popping the crock pot on low.

Neglect for 7 hours (i think I cooked mine 8 hours)
Give it a good stir, and serve. Top with almond milk, almonds etc.

YUMMO
This makes 5 cups of oatmeal, with a WLS serving to be 1/2 a cup with a scoop of protein added (not reflected in first set of numbers)
For the oatmeal alone:
Calories 136, Carbs 22g (NET 19g), Fat 5g, Protein 4g, Sugar 5g

With the protein and 1/4 cup of almond milk, it has impressive protein numbers.
Calories 256, Carbs 24g (NET 21g), Fat 6g, Protein 31g, Sugars 6g

Actions

Information

One response

22 11 2011
fayejones1

Reblogged this on fayejones1.

Leave a Reply

