Pumpkin Protein Un-Bread

7 12 2011

So I am going to start off with what I ate today…some days I could get EVERYTHING, and other days I can get very little into the system. I have made a commitment to myself this holiday to plan in my treats and make sure I hit the gym almost every day. I am finding it stressful over the holidays and the running-spinning-elliptical-combat classes allow me to sleep like a rock without my head spinning too much.

SO today.. I am hot and cold on soup in general, as it is really a slider food but I made Jess’ Thai Coconut Shrimp Soup but jacked up the protein content (up to 24g per cup) by adding a half a package of silken tofu to the mix. It was a good time.
Protein coffee for breakfast, a medium 10oz cappucino for mid-morning snack, and 1/2 cup of Greek yogurt with some sf jam for afternoon snack. A turkey pepperoni before I hit the gym, and frijoles charros for dinner. Snack for tonight will be pumpkin un-bread. Before snack tonight I have close to 970 calories and 97g of protein in.. not too shabby.

This pumpkin un-bread is delicious, and loaf-like without using flour, which drives the carbs WAY down. Un-bread is like bread, but not, and it feels different enough that this doesn’t feel like old habits. I have full control when this is in our house.. an ACE Bakery baguette may be more of an issue. I can only eat half a slice of this un-bread, but Ken can eat a whole slice. This recipe makes 12 slices of bread (24 if it is all WLS sized). While the half of a square will LOOK small, this feels pretty heavy in the system… just a word of caution, don’t overdue it the first time eating it.

Kat’s Pumpkin Pepitas Un-Bread

1/2 cup almond meal(flour)
1 1/2 cups Splenda
3/4 cup of vanilla whey protein powder
6 tbsp vital wheat gluten
4 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp baking soda

2 extra large eggs
1 cup pumpkin puree
1/4 cup of sour cream, low fat
1 container ~ 1/4 cup of unsweetened apple sauce
4 tbsp canola oil
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup of pepitas, optional

Set the oven for 350 degrees and line a loaf pan with some parchment paper. This stuff wants to stick to everything, so spray won’t cut it for this recipe.

In a bowl mix the dry ingredients and set aside (first half of ingredients above)

Grab another medium sized bowl and crack the eggs, beat until scrambled, combine the pumpkin, sour cream, apple sauce, oil and vanilla extract.

Mix until combined..

Pour into your prepped loaf pan and again, don’t spray the pan and think this is going to come out clean. I have tried it, you need parchment paper to lift this out once it is cooled. Sprinkle pepitas on the top of the loaf, and pop into the oven to bake for 55 minutes, checking with a toothpick for done-ness.

TADA! Delicious, nutritious and like devil bread, BUT NOT!

Nuts on this are as follows (quoted with pepitas) per slice (12 slices per loaf). If you can only finish HALF a slice, adjust accordingly.
Calories 181, Carbs 10g (NET 8g), Fat 11g, Protein 12g, Sugar 3g

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

