Veggie-Paleo Recipe – A Pleasant Contradiction

20 12 2011

So as you may or may not be aware, I am setting myself up for 30 days of paleo eating and exercising after the holidays. I have had my allergies come back, and I am thinking it could be because of the wheat-grains that have come back here and there into my diet. Who doesnt eat crackers and cheese at this time of year??

Anyway, to set myself up for success I decided to test drive a couple of recipes, I found this light, easy and incredibly delicious recipe and I tweaked it. What is astounding to me is that this is a veggie paleo recipe.. it seems such a contradiction to me, and got me thinking about whether any vegetarian would even attempt a paleo lifestyle.. you just couldn’t!!

What appealed to me was this reminded me of a Middle Eastern egg and tomato dish called Shakshuka, where garlic, tomatoes, olive oil and spice are the base in a pan, and eggs are cracked into it and broiled. SO SO good. I also like that you can make as many or as little as you want, so you aren’t freaking out over the huge amounts of leftovers. A normal serving size is two tomatoes, with some baked beans on the side, while the WLS serving is one tomatoe with some cut up veggie.

In my world, I like discreet serving sizes, so this appealed to me. As you all know from previous posts, I also love to stuff things into other things, so this recipe hit all my favourite marks.

Overall, I feel slightly drained from this holiday season and am trying to do everything to recharge the batteries… or it could be I need a haircut.. out of control hair makes me mental.

Tomatoe-Pesto-Egg Bake

6 hand sized tomatoes, hollowed out
6 eggs
6 tsp homemade pesto-or pre-bought(if you are true paleo, omit the pesto and go with a seasoning as the pine nuts and parm isnt quite on plan depending on where you stand)

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees, and line a baking dish with some tinfoil to save clean up later on. All about making life easy!!

Hollow out tomatoes by cutting cones out of the top and scraping the insides down. Place them in the baking dish. Scoop in 1 tsp of pesto into the bottom of each tomato.

Wait for the oven to be ready, and carefully crack an egg into the tomatoe vessel. Pop into the oven for 20 minutes and check to see the firmness of the egg. If you like the yolk still soft, then it will take about 30 minutes.

Once at the desired firmness, pop out of the oven and wait 5 minutes to plate. These are slightly squishy now, so a large scoop or spoon is the only way to fish them out without mangling them.

I served this with some pre-roasted brussel sprouts. The pesto made this super delicious and it paired so well with the tomatoe. It was a good meal and I am still thinking about it. I had one the next day for lunch and was equally excited by eating it cold!

Nuts on this are pretty good, not super protein-y…Calories 128, Carbs 8g (NET 5g), Fat 8g, Protein 8g, Sugar 3g

Actions

Information

5 responses

20 12 2011
Gursahiba@ExquisiteNiche

This looks Yumm!! Gotta try out! Nice pictures and a nice blog!

20 12 2011
geokatgirl

Thanks! I really liked it, and you can do a plethora of variations on this theme.. maybe some hot sauce and a slide of chorizo at the bottom of the tomato perhaps??

A slice of pepperoni and some marinara sauce?? some chimichurri sauce would also be good…

20 12 2011
When Harry Met Celery

Looks so yum and easy to make! When you have the time, do drop by my space. I just made some Ferrero Rocher bars and would love to hear what you think. Cheers!

21 12 2011
geokatgirl

Thanks Sandy! You could kid-fy it up by making pizza ones with pepperoni, sauce and some moz cheese.

20 12 2011
sandy

Neat…this is a recipe that even non-cooks like myself could make. thanks!

Leave a Reply

