Cinnamon Chicken & Primal Countdown

27 12 2011

Merry Ho-Ho to everyone! I trust everyone feels stuffed and sort of lethargic?? Moi aussi! The holidays are such a hype, that after it’s over it always feels like a professional hit… slow, slealthy, and when you least expect it–WHAM.
Enough with the turkey!

I am feeling the after effects of the holidays, too much salt, too many carbs, and just an overall “too much”. People are overly generous this year, and I am thankful. It also spurs some Catholic guilt in me, so yesterday morning Ken and I cleaned out our closets and one storage space and brought 4 Costco sized bags to Value Village for donation.

I will say my favourite gift is the gag gift my sister bought me, it’s a toque that has a knitted beard on it.. I guess it is like the Movember version of a winter hat. It will be great for winter running.

SASSY!

I am looking ahead at the new year and my paleo-primal experiment with some anticipation… 30 days won’t be easy, and is has me working out some things like what I am doing with my coffee?? no milk, no coffeemate.. we’ll have to come up with something there. I test drove this cinnamon chicken recipe to see if was going to be good for my 30 days. Ken isn’t big on tagine, but I am, so this seemed like a middle ground. It was FANTASTIC, not because it was paleo, but because it was super good and dead easy.

Cinnamon Rubbed Chicken

8 bone in chicken thighs, skin removed (you can use anything for this, a whole chicken, whatever you have going)
1 tbsp cinnamon
2 tsp sweet paprika
5 garlic cloves, minced or 2 tsp pre-minced garlic
olive oil

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees and grab a 8 x 8 baking dish and prep with non-stick spray or line with tinfoil.
Skin the chicken thighs or leave the skin on it you prefer. Chicken thighs have enough fat IMO that you dont need the skin on as well.
In a bowl mix the cinnamon, paprika, and garlic until it forms a paste. If the paste is too dry, glug in some olive oil to moisten it up.

Take a small spoon and smear the tops of the chicken thighs with the paste. They don’t have to be completely coated with the paste. Throw some salt and pepper over the whole things and pop into the oven for 30 minutes.

Depending on size of thighs, check for doneness. I think ours took an additional 10 more minutes. I pulled them from the oven, and let rest as I prepped the plates with some pre-roasted butternut squash & carrots. I have been making up pre-roasted batches of veggies as it makes life so simple. Plate one chicken thigh and a scoop of veggie on plate, pour 1 tbsp of pan juices over the chicken and serve.

I can’t describe how wonderful this dish makes the house smell.. cinnamon and garlic and wonderful. The nuts on these are equally wonderful. Small stomachs, this serves 8 (one thigh per serving with veggie-veggie not included in nuts)

Calories 115, Carbs 0g, Fat 5g, Protein 16g, Sugar 0g

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

